Our website family:  ClubCivic.com - ClubIntegra.com - TunerSports.com

SEARCH: Forums | Parts
Attention Honda Civic Visitor:  Remove this block by logging in above or registering.

Welcome to ClubCivic.com, a forum dedicated to the Honda Civic, including all generations. In order to post on this forum you will have to register.

Registration is free and will intitle you to other site features including access to post your Honda Civic in the member's garage, join in raffles for performance parts, etc.



Go Back   ClubCivic.com - Honda Civic Forum > Honda Civic Technical > Engine Tech / Drivetrain

Notices

Please SEARCH Before Posting a New Thread. ->
Ready to Post a New Thread/Question? ->



Replacing B16A block with a B20 keeping the head of the B16A

Engine Tech / Drivetrain


Technical forums are exclusively for technical discussions.
Thread Makers: Thread titles must summarize the technical question or problem, and the first post must include the year, trim, and any mods for your Civic.
Responding Members:
Limit your posts to helpful responses, and do not tell members to "Go Search", unless you also provide some specific guidance on the technical question or problem.
All Members: Rude or flaming posts will not be tolerated, though civil debate and disagreement are acceptable.


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-11-2007, 01:50 PM   #1
mok
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Lebanon
Age: 34
Posts: 5
 
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Default Replacing B16A block with a B20 keeping the head of the B16A

I have a B16A2 engine came stock on my EG6 1992, I want to replace my block with a B20Z (CRV), what parts should I change? I want to keep my B16 head obviously
Can I keep everything the same, engine mounts, transmission, clutch ,axles
mok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2007, 02:11 PM   #2
ryanM
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Midwest
Age: 84
Posts: 11,255
 
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Default

yes you keep everything the same, just swap the bottom end
ryanM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2007, 02:20 PM   #3
Ls-HatchBoy
Honda Whore
 
Ls-HatchBoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Virginia
Age: 28
Posts: 712
 
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Default

everything is the same, cept you need to get a special head gasket kit, and tap the head
Ls-HatchBoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2007, 02:25 PM   #4
defvayne
Set This World On Blaze!!
 
defvayne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Houston, TX
Age: 30
Posts: 3,120
 
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ls-HatchBoy
everything is the same, cept you need to get a special head gasket kit, and tap the head
yup there is a kit you can purchase from Honda-T**ch.com search it up.
__________________
Discontinued 96-98 Rear Lip #0001 ][ VSM Crew #5 ][ LSMC #2 ]
defvayne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2007, 04:08 PM   #5
Billy.
♪♪ ♫♪ ♪♫♪ ♪♪ ♫♫ ♪
 
Billy.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Chucktown, SC
Age: 29
Posts: 11,443
 


Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Default

uhh, i dont know bout everyone elses, but my b20vtec needed fuel management. pressure regulator and vafc2 to get the AFR in the green zone

*EDIT*
i recommend if you going to do a b20 bottom, build it for higher compression unless your plan to boost. the vtec head likes more air pressure, else it will stop making power in the low 7k rpms and you wont expect to see more than 165whp stock.
__________________
iTrader Profile
Billy. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2007, 04:13 PM   #6
ryanM
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Midwest
Age: 84
Posts: 11,255
 
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mugenkid18
uhh, i dont know bout everyone elses, but my b20vtec needed fuel management. pressure regulator and vafc2 to get the AFR in the green zone

*EDIT*
i recommend if you going to do a b20 bottom, build it for higher compression unless your plan to boost. the vtec head likes more air pressure, else it will stop making power in the low 7k rpms and you wont expect to see more than 165whp stock.
why did swapping blocks change your air/fuel?
ryanM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2007, 04:43 PM   #7
Billy.
♪♪ ♫♪ ♪♫♪ ♪♪ ♫♫ ♪
 
Billy.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Chucktown, SC
Age: 29
Posts: 11,443
 


Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LongGrain
why did swapping blocks change your air/fuel?
you tell me. but it did, it ran lean past 6k rpm
__________________
iTrader Profile
Billy. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2007, 05:02 PM   #8
ryanM
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Midwest
Age: 84
Posts: 11,255
 
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mugenkid18
you tell me. but it did, it ran lean past 6k rpm
that sounds like an unrelated problem to me, swapping bottom ends shouldnt change your a/f at all, thats controlled by the injectors, throttle body/intake and ECU.
ryanM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2007, 05:28 PM   #9
defvayne
Set This World On Blaze!!
 
defvayne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Houston, TX
Age: 30
Posts: 3,120
 
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LongGrain
that sounds like an unrelated problem to me, swapping bottom ends shouldnt change your a/f at all, thats controlled by the injectors, throttle body/intake and ECU.
i guess you have to get the ecu tuned.
__________________
Discontinued 96-98 Rear Lip #0001 ][ VSM Crew #5 ][ LSMC #2 ]
defvayne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2007, 09:08 AM   #10
Billy.
♪♪ ♫♪ ♪♫♪ ♪♪ ♫♫ ♪
 
Billy.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Chucktown, SC
Age: 29
Posts: 11,443
 


Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by defvayne
i guess you have to get the ecu tuned.
...that or use piggyback hack vafc
__________________
iTrader Profile
Billy. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2007, 09:48 PM   #11
DAF
Zinc Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Lillington, NC
Age: 29
Posts: 631
 
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Default

You can use the LS/Vtec conversion kit for it. All a b20 is, is a 84mm LS block basicly.
DAF is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply


Bookmarks


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: b16a motor head/block spooneg6 Parts for Sale 1 11-13-2008 09:19 AM
b18c5 head vs ported b16a head on a b18c1 block for n/a help! FLCL7777 Engine Tech / Drivetrain 8 05-18-2008 02:55 PM
EG4 with B16A Head + B20B bottom block EG4 Show off your 5th Generation Honda Civic (1992-1995) 29 04-21-2007 11:35 AM
B18B Block + B16A Head JohnS. Engine Tech / Drivetrain 12 04-02-2007 12:07 PM
b18b head with a b16a block? 98xSLVRxEK Engine Tech / Drivetrain 2 04-25-2004 01:38 PM

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vB.Sponsors

Store News:

Latest Topics:


Store Specials:

ALL
Unanswered Topics:





Copyright 2011 ClubCivic.com - ClubCivic.com is in no way affiliated with Honda Motor Company