Search:
Attention Honda Civic Visitor:  Remove this block by logging in above or registering.

Welcome to ClubCivic

Club Civic is an online Honda Civic forum and community for all Honda Civic enthusiasts. Whether you own a Honda Civic Si, Ex, Type R, Dx, Lx, Cx, Dx, Vx, or even a hybrid you will find valuable information and car parts on this site. Take a look around to view Honda Civic discussion; including a photo gallery, maintenance information, tech tips, as well as ways to get better performance from your Honda Civic. Visit the member’s garage to view and rate other member’s Honda Civics. Click here to start viewing the Honda Civic Forums. Before you start posting on this site you will need to register. If you are already registered and not logged in, please login here.

Browse the forums by generation by clicking below or browse all honda civic forums.


Go Back   ClubCivic.com - Honda Civic Forum > Honda Civic DIY / How To > DIY How To's > Engine Tech / Drivetrain DIY How-To's

Notices

Please SEARCH Before Posting a New Thread. ->
Ready to Post a New Thread/Question? ->  



How To: convert your civic from an auto to a manual

Engine Tech / Drivetrain DIY How-To's




Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-01-2008, 08:41 PM   #1
12.8:1 Ls/vtec
IT'S OVER NINE THOUSAND!!
 
12.8:1 Ls/vtec's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Alabama
Age: 27
Posts: 4,190
 
Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 6 Posts

Default How To: convert your civic from an auto to a manual

Ok, I've done this to my car and have seen this question asked at least 50-100 times since I've been on this site. Probably even after I do this, I will still continue to see people asking blind questions, so if anyone asks, tell their sorry asses to search the how-to's b/c the info is reliable and complete.
Okay here is a list of what you will need for a 5th gen
  1. Shift linkage(specific to motor, I'll explain more later)
  2. brake/gas pedal assembly(92-00 civic,94-01 integra)
  3. clutch pedal assembly(92-00 civic,94-01 integra)
  4. clutch master cylinder and reservoir
  5. clutch slave cylinder
  6. clutch hard lines and soft line
  7. L bracket for trans from manual car(specific for motor)
  8. Rear engine mount from manual car
  9. Dot 4 brake fluid,soldering iron, solder, heat shrink, lighter, electrical tape, extra 16 Ga. wire
  10. manual trans, clutch kit, flywheel, manual car flywheel bolts( longer than the auto one)
  11. shift boot, shift knob, some nuts and bolts to mount the shift linkage inside the car(prefferably 12 mm head and a nut to fit it with lock washers

http://www.hondacivicforum.com/m_295187/tm.htm

This site will help you better understand what wires will need to go where, the important ones are the ones that fools your car into thinking it is always in park, the reverse lights WILL NOT work unless externally wired up from inside the car, there is also a way to get the car start only when the clutch pedal is pressed in. Your automatic car will not have the cruise control switch or the clutch interlock switch in the harnss under the dash so don't waste your time looking, I did for like 15 minutes until I looked in my hatch and saw it would have been visble and unhidden. Make sure when you get the pedal assemblies, that you take all the bolts with you or hope you know you have some at home that will work, also get the clutch interlock swith plug off the harness, just cut the wires a couple of inches out, and get the cruise control cutoff switch plug if you plan on running cruise control. If the car you took the pedals from doesn't have the cruise control, then you will have to get the switch that tells the unit to disengage the cruise control, also, you will need the gas pedal off a car with cruise control or use the part off you pedal tha it connects to and put it on the other pedal or just leave you pedal in place if you plan on just converting your D or B to manual and you already have a throttle cable that is for that car.

The throttle cables are quite different between the auto and manual cars, so are the upper parts of the gas pedals themselves.

Very important
The automatic body of the car that you have will have a different transmission bracket off the frame than the manual 5th gen body, I'm sure the 6th gens don't have this problem b/c of the same type of bolt on mount that goes on the frame, but if you are doing a 5th gen auto to manual, then you can buy an AVID auto-manual mount which is a solid mount that goes up to the higher bracket, Hasport makes one also, You can get the mounts off of ebay for about $135-$175. Your other option is to drill out the spot welds out and then chisle off the bracket from the car, do the same to a manual car, clean up the parts and prep them for welding with bare metal, then following up with weld though primer, then weld the spot welds, clean them up, bare metal primer, primer surfacer, scuff, prep and paint, or you could just buy a mount and call it a day. the manual mount from the manual car WILL NOT work on the automatic car b/c it won't reach the higher bracket.

Go to honda and buy 3 qt.s of manual trans fluid, and buy the shift linkage pin for the trans, should be less than $15. Also get the dust cover for the trans so no dirt of water gets thrown into the bell housing of the trans.

*I'll be specific with what shift linkages you can use
For the 92-00 civic D series, you can only use the 92-00 civic D series linkage
If you are going to a B series you can use a 99-00 civic Si linkage, a 92-95 sir2 b16 linkage,or a 94-01 integra linkage

*Del sols can only use Del sol linkages, not sure on whether the D is different in the Del sol, but If you are converting to a B series, then you MUST have a Del sol Vtec b16 linkage.

Pics of the different brackets.
manual
http://i85.photobucket.com/albums/k7...anualmount.jpg
auto
http://i85.photobucket.com/albums/k7...utobracket.jpg
You can see that the automatic one raises up and the manual one goes out straight, but only in the 5th gen.(this is the car I did my swap in, my dd)

Okay, so back to the wiring, and the install. The wiring info is in the site I posted earlier
Pedal installation, sorry for no pics of this but I scavenged someone elses from H-T and it should show you a little more than I can tell you

http://honda-tech.com/zerothread?id=1337459
This is in a 6th gen so some of the sensors will be different like the cruise switch and the clutch interlock switch.

When you go to wiring, go to the hondacivicforum up there and look at the plug, this plug is the one that goes to the electrical part of the shifter, cut it between the plug and the part that goes to the mechanical part of the shifter
* cut 2 2.5-3 ft of wire for the clutch interlock switch and wire the big guage wire at points #11 and #12 and run the wires to the switch, I don't think it matters which side goes where b/c it is just carrying the power to the starter when the clutch pedal closes the circuit.
*Loop the Green/white wire at point #10 to the black wire that is not located at#7 so the car will always think that it is in park. (there are 2 black wires)
*Run the green wire at #4 and the yellow at #5 to the reverse plug b/c the reverse lights won't work unless you run the wires though the firewall to the plug.
*Cruise control I don't have, so I didn't have to use it but wire the #7 wire and the #13 wire to the switch on the clutch assembly.

*Also, you will need to drill out holes for where the shift linkage is going to have to bolt. The 2 shallow holes have a single piece of sheet metal that you will only need to drill a hole about 10 mm wide so your bolt will go through and your nut will sit nicely up on top. IF you have a 6th gen, you will have to cut a good chunk of metal out so the shifter will clear, but in a 5th gen you will just have a hole, weld it up or just clean it really well and put dynamat over the hole(what I did).

*Also, get your right axles and use the manual ecu b/c you will have a couple of codes for the tranny that isn't there. If you want to put a cluster with a tach in, all you have to do is plug it in, no questions asked, just bolt it in and your tach will work.

You really don't have to drop the steering wheel out to do this if you modify a screwdriver with a dremmel. Just put a slot in the screwdriver so you can put the springs that keep the tension on the pedals. Do the gas pedal/brake pedal first so you will have more room to work with. When you will have to do the clutch pedal, you will have to move the interlock assembly, just put it behind the carpet so you can take your key out of the ignition. If you want to pull the column, then you might have room to work with, but will have to move around the column. I can only say the worst part is putting the pedals in. Take the motor out before before putting the hydraulic lines in, and have plenty of tools. I didn't write any of the info I have links on, so I can't guarantee that it is perfect, or you comprehend it, but it is right. I am not responsible for your mess ups or if you can't follow directions. good luck and hope this helps you out with your swap. There are pics on the sites I have found the swaps on so just click the links.
12.8:1 Ls/vtec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2008, 10:05 AM   #2
12.8:1 Ls/vtec
IT'S OVER NINE THOUSAND!!
 
12.8:1 Ls/vtec's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Alabama
Age: 27
Posts: 4,190
 
Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 6 Posts

Default

And to go back and say something, in the hondatech article, the interlock is unnecessary if you do the wiring I said and leave the interlock box plugged in behind the carpet.
12.8:1 Ls/vtec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2009, 11:13 PM   #3
12.8:1 Ls/vtec
IT'S OVER NINE THOUSAND!!
 
12.8:1 Ls/vtec's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Alabama
Age: 27
Posts: 4,190
 
Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 6 Posts

Default

bump, more people need to see this s***, and don't search enough.
12.8:1 Ls/vtec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2009, 08:05 PM   #4
trebor
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Suriname
Posts: 14
 
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Default

I have ssilly question . Does the Vtec activate when the car is in park ?
trebor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2009, 08:15 PM   #5
cheezeonmakneez
love unicorns
 
cheezeonmakneez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Iowa
Age: 35
Posts: 5,685
 
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Default

dont believe so
__________________
[
Quote:
Originally Posted by Destroy View Post
The next useless thread you post I'm gonna pm you a pic of my hairy asshole.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Wit tuning View Post
Mugen GTR: I want to make a new style)



Quote:
Originally posted by ej8arm lol im tellin you people just get dumer by the day!!!!
cheezeonmakneez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2009, 08:18 PM   #6
senatE
Titanium Member
 
senatE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: nowere
Posts: 1,093
 
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by trebor View Post
I have ssilly question . Does the Vtec activate when the car is in park ?
No
__________________
I do not drive hondas anymore
senatE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2009, 08:23 PM   #7
trebor
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Suriname
Posts: 14
 
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Default

when you do the swap, you need to put the car in park so you can start the car.what do you need to do to activate the vtec?
trebor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2009, 08:25 PM   #8
cheezeonmakneez
love unicorns
 
cheezeonmakneez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Iowa
Age: 35
Posts: 5,685
 
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Default

drive it
__________________
[
Quote:
Originally Posted by Destroy View Post
The next useless thread you post I'm gonna pm you a pic of my hairy asshole.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Wit tuning View Post
Mugen GTR: I want to make a new style)



Quote:
Originally posted by ej8arm lol im tellin you people just get dumer by the day!!!!
cheezeonmakneez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2009, 08:34 PM   #9
trebor
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Suriname
Posts: 14
 
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Default

I meant that if i do the swap and the car must be in park i know that you can drive the car.we are from suriname and my english is not so good you know.does the vtec senser see that the car is in park.
trebor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2009, 10:26 PM   #10
12.8:1 Ls/vtec
IT'S OVER NINE THOUSAND!!
 
12.8:1 Ls/vtec's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Alabama
Age: 27
Posts: 4,190
 
Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 6 Posts

Default

No, everything works as it is supposed to. Its just transmission related, the ecu isn't complex enough to care.
12.8:1 Ls/vtec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2009, 10:44 PM   #11
hardcore97
Hard Core
 
hardcore97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: MO
Age: 27
Posts: 3,453
 
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Default

good info. tranny bracket is also different between manual and auto trannies on 6th gens
__________________
so good at stalking i dont even know im doing it
hardcore97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2010, 01:44 PM   #12
Szady
D-Series Master
 
Szady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Upstate, NY
Age: 28
Posts: 8,190
 
Thanks: 5
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hardcore97 View Post
good info. tranny bracket is also different between manual and auto trannies on 6th gens
Only the upper and front torque ones are. The rear one is the same.

Bump b/c I was going thru and looking on how to do a 5spd conversion on a 5th Gen...
Szady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2010, 12:21 PM   #13
Ceros
Registered User
 
Ceros's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 416
 
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Default

Not sure, but don't you need a 5 speed intake manifold and a throttle body?
__________________

"Racing is the game, function is the style."
Checkout my build thread: http://www.clubcivic.com/board/showt...35#post2919235
Ceros is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2010, 03:48 AM   #14
nerofotia
n00b
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: 29 Palms, CA
Age: 35
Posts: 77
 

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Default

Bump because I was trying to decide if the transmission swap would be worthwhile for what might become my wife's Civic.

Short answer: no. She wouldn't appreciate it enough to make the work worthwhile. I have enough of my own projects to do.
__________________
"It may not always seem like you have the time to do it right- but if you don't, you will almost always have to make the time to do it again." ~me

1995 EJ1 Daily Driver (Build thread)
Project start: February 2010
Est. Completion Date: February 2020
nerofotia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2010, 03:22 AM   #15
Mrod209
Registered User
 
Mrod209's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Lodi, Ca.
Age: 24
Posts: 39
 

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Default

Is it the same for a 7th gen. civic? Im thinkin of doin this to my 04 honda civic.. (auto) haha
__________________
M-Rod
Mrod209 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Bookmarks



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How i convert from Manual to Power windows? Delerium33 Interior / Audio / Electronics 1 11-04-2009 04:20 AM
possible to convert automatic to manual on a 98' civic lx? MiCC Tech Archive (No Posting) 10 06-05-2006 12:33 AM
how can i convert Automatic to Manual johnnynguyen21 Engine Tech / Drivetrain 13 12-28-2005 05:32 PM
anyone convert auto to manuel ecu's??? rUdGrICk Engine Tech / Drivetrain 5 10-03-2005 01:20 AM
Convert Auto to Manual gooch Tech Archive (No Posting) 1 09-11-2004 09:30 PM

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vB.Sponsors

Store News:

Latest Topics:


Store Specials:

ALL
Unanswered Topics:





Copyright 2011 ClubCivic.com - ClubCivic.com is in no way affiliated with Honda Motor Company