Our website family:  ClubCivic.com - ClubIntegra.com - TunerSports.com

SEARCH: Forums | Parts
Attention Honda Civic Visitor:  Remove this block by logging in above or registering.

Welcome to ClubCivic.com, a forum dedicated to the Honda Civic, including all generations. In order to post on this forum you will have to register.

Registration is free and will intitle you to other site features including access to post your Honda Civic in the member's garage, join in raffles for performance parts, etc.



Go Back   ClubCivic.com - Honda Civic Forum > Honda Civic Technical > Tech Archive (No Posting)

Notices

Tech Archive (No Posting) This will also temporarily hold all of the old gen specific threads until they are all moved to the correct categories.

Please SEARCH Before Posting a New Thread. ->
Ready to Post a New Thread/Question? ->



Cel - P0138

Tech Archive (No Posting)


Technical forums are exclusively for technical discussions.
Thread Makers: Thread titles must summarize the technical question or problem, and the first post must include the year, trim, and any mods for your Civic.
Responding Members:
Limit your posts to helpful responses, and do not tell members to "Go Search", unless you also provide some specific guidance on the technical question or problem.
All Members: Rude or flaming posts will not be tolerated, though civil debate and disagreement are acceptable.


 
Thread Tools
Old 12-12-2009, 01:32 PM   #1
CMRdevelopment
It be me, Sammo

 
CMRdevelopment's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Yay Area, Ca
Age: 27
Posts: 4,535
 
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

Question Cel - P0138

I understand that the code is an " o2 Circuit High Voltage, Bank 1 Sensor 2 "

Ive been trying to search around for how to fix this but no go on that end.

So, how would I go off to solve this? The o2 itself is relatively new. Its universal so I made sure I connected the wires properly to the oem wires which ends to the female plug.

Also, for some odd reason this CEL code ALWAYS comes on when the weather is moist [ I find that super odd ]. I for sure think there couldnt be any type of moisture leaking in the wires where they were connected [ used heat shrink tubes ] and also, if the CEL would to come on after ive reset or clear the code, it would randomly come back on at 60mph. It hesitates for a bit at 60mph then a few seconds later the CEL would come on.So now im stumped.


Side notes just in case : Engine : y7 but is using a y8 header and y8 cat not sure if that would help but its something.

- Thanks in advance
Sammo.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by YoungKadafi View Post
I know most people will be like WTF-R, but after that many episodes of bangbus my fingers can bend raw titanium.
CMRdevelopment is offline  
Old 12-13-2009, 02:16 AM   #2
CMRdevelopment
It be me, Sammo

 
CMRdevelopment's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Yay Area, Ca
Age: 27
Posts: 4,535
 
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

Default

Before sleep bump.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by YoungKadafi View Post
I know most people will be like WTF-R, but after that many episodes of bangbus my fingers can bend raw titanium.
CMRdevelopment is offline  
Old 12-13-2009, 09:01 AM   #3
RonJ
Civic minded
 
RonJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 12,470
 


Thanks: 0
Thanked 69 Times in 64 Posts

Default

Did you replace the primary O2 sensor due to code P0138 and the code persisted after replacement? Or did P0138 only show up after replacing the sensor?
RonJ is offline  
Old 12-14-2009, 03:28 AM   #4
CMRdevelopment
It be me, Sammo

 
CMRdevelopment's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Yay Area, Ca
Age: 27
Posts: 4,535
 
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

Default

P0138 only started showing up after I replaced it.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by YoungKadafi View Post
I know most people will be like WTF-R, but after that many episodes of bangbus my fingers can bend raw titanium.
CMRdevelopment is offline  
Old 12-14-2009, 08:38 AM   #5
RonJ
Civic minded
 
RonJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 12,470
 


Thanks: 0
Thanked 69 Times in 64 Posts

Default

There's likely a problem with the quality of your cut and splice rewiring job.
RonJ is offline  
Old 12-14-2009, 08:12 PM   #6
CMRdevelopment
It be me, Sammo

 
CMRdevelopment's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Yay Area, Ca
Age: 27
Posts: 4,535
 
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

Default

Thank you sir. I'll recheck my splicing and the rest of the wires.

Oh btw would it matter on the quality of the wire in which I used to extend them?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by YoungKadafi View Post
I know most people will be like WTF-R, but after that many episodes of bangbus my fingers can bend raw titanium.
CMRdevelopment is offline  
Old 12-14-2009, 11:41 PM   #7
ohsnapzitzmeng
Registered User
 
ohsnapzitzmeng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: WI
Posts: 449
 
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RonJ View Post
There's likely a problem with the quality of your cut and splice rewiring job.
ok i have the same problem, but im pretty sure i did a good job on my rewiring job as i saudered and shrink tubbed them, could i have messed it up somehow?
ohsnapzitzmeng is offline  
Old 12-15-2009, 12:40 AM   #8
RonJ
Civic minded
 
RonJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 12,470
 


Thanks: 0
Thanked 69 Times in 64 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ohsnapzitzmeng View Post
ok i have the same problem, but im pretty sure i did a good job on my rewiring job as i saudered and shrink tubbed them, could i have messed it up somehow?
Quote:
Originally Posted by CMRdevelopment View Post
Thank you sir. I'll recheck my splicing and the rest of the wires.

Oh btw would it matter on the quality of the wire in which I used to extend them?
Just for clarification, you both know that P0138 indicates a problem with the secondary O2 sensor circuit not the primary O2 sensor circuit, right?
RonJ is offline  
Old 12-15-2009, 04:07 PM   #9
CMRdevelopment
It be me, Sammo

 
CMRdevelopment's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Yay Area, Ca
Age: 27
Posts: 4,535
 
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

Default

Yes sir. I do know that.

I gues I can redo the wiring job and see how it goes from there.

Thanks for the help and suggestion RonJ...U the man!
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by YoungKadafi View Post
I know most people will be like WTF-R, but after that many episodes of bangbus my fingers can bend raw titanium.
CMRdevelopment is offline  
Old 12-15-2009, 04:18 PM   #10
RonJ
Civic minded
 
RonJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 12,470
 


Thanks: 0
Thanked 69 Times in 64 Posts

Default

This service manual diagram may or may not be helpful to you:

RonJ is offline  
Old 12-15-2009, 04:22 PM   #11
CMRdevelopment
It be me, Sammo

 
CMRdevelopment's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Yay Area, Ca
Age: 27
Posts: 4,535
 
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

Default

Haha. with wiring diagrams. I panic and i start seeing blah blah blah blah on the paper. LOL i swear it took me 2 hrs to just wire my deck O_O and its just plug and play LOL

I'll give that diagram a shot though. Thanks again RonJ
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by YoungKadafi View Post
I know most people will be like WTF-R, but after that many episodes of bangbus my fingers can bend raw titanium.
CMRdevelopment is offline  
Old 12-15-2009, 04:25 PM   #12
RonJ
Civic minded
 
RonJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 12,470
 


Thanks: 0
Thanked 69 Times in 64 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CMRdevelopment View Post
Haha. with wiring diagrams. I panic and i start seeing blah blah blah blah on the paper. LOL i swear it took me 2 hrs to just wire my deck O_O and its just plug and play LOL

I'll give that diagram a shot though. Thanks again RonJ
The biggest problem with the diagram and the reason I didn't post it earlier are that some of the voltage troubleshooting requires an above-average scan tool.
RonJ is offline  
Old 12-15-2009, 04:25 PM   #13
defvayne
Set This World On Blaze!!
 
defvayne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Houston, TX
Age: 30
Posts: 3,120
 
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Default

Make sure you use the same Gauged wiring when creating a extension.
__________________
Discontinued 96-98 Rear Lip #0001 ][ VSM Crew #5 ][ LSMC #2 ]
defvayne is offline  
Old 12-15-2009, 04:38 PM   #14
RonJ
Civic minded
 
RonJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 12,470
 


Thanks: 0
Thanked 69 Times in 64 Posts

Default

This site has more good information about O2 sensor wire splicing.
RonJ is offline  
Old 12-17-2009, 10:30 AM   #15
ohsnapzitzmeng
Registered User
 
ohsnapzitzmeng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: WI
Posts: 449
 
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Default

ah man are you saying i gotta rewire? im pretty sure my saudering was good enough, i even electrical tapped the outside from the weathering. i believe it could be my wire guages as they were only a slight bigger
ohsnapzitzmeng is offline  

 


Bookmarks


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CEL codes without CEL light? Mny300zx Tech Archive (No Posting) 2 05-31-2010 03:30 AM
CEL help! Szady Tech Archive (No Posting) 9 12-12-2009 07:38 PM
Cel tokenblk Tech Archive (No Posting) 2 06-11-2008 03:12 AM
cel is on redmncivic Tech Archive (No Posting) 2 06-05-2006 07:28 AM
CEL on '93 EX abadv8 Tech Archive (No Posting) 0 05-05-2005 10:29 PM

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vB.Sponsors

Store News:

Latest Topics:


Store Specials:

ALL
Unanswered Topics:





Copyright 2011 ClubCivic.com - ClubCivic.com is in no way affiliated with Honda Motor Company