Search:
Attention Honda Civic Visitor:  Remove this block by logging in above or registering.

Welcome to ClubCivic

Club Civic is an online Honda Civic forum and community for all Honda Civic enthusiasts. Whether you own a Honda Civic Si, Ex, Type R, Dx, Lx, Cx, Dx, Vx, or even a hybrid you will find valuable information and car parts on this site. Take a look around to view Honda Civic discussion; including a photo gallery, maintenance information, tech tips, as well as ways to get better performance from your Honda Civic. Visit the member’s garage to view and rate other member’s Honda Civics. Click here to start viewing the Honda Civic Forums. Before you start posting on this site you will need to register. If you are already registered and not logged in, please login here.

Browse the forums by generation by clicking below or browse all honda civic forums.


Go Back   ClubCivic.com - Honda Civic Forum > Honda Civic Technical > Engine Tech / Drivetrain

Notices

Please SEARCH Before Posting a New Thread. ->
Ready to Post a New Thread/Question? ->  



Scanned my car and throughout; Code P0113

Engine Tech / Drivetrain


Technical forums are exclusively for technical discussions.
Thread Makers: Thread titles must summarize the technical question or problem, and the first post must include the year, trim, and any mods for your Civic.
Responding Members:
Limit your posts to helpful responses, and do not tell members to "Go Search", unless you also provide some specific guidance on the technical question or problem.
All Members: Rude or flaming posts will not be tolerated, though civil debate and disagreement are acceptable.

User Tag List


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-17-2010, 03:00 AM   #1
kakatotti
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: San Francisco, California
Posts: 53
 
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)

Default Scanned my car and throughout; Code P0113

I own a Honda Civic 1998 ex coupe, automatic transmission.
Recently I scanned my car and it throughout the code P0113 which is the Intake Air Temperature Circuit High Input. What does this mean? How can I fix this and does any body have instruction? Has anybody had this problem before that can help me out? Thank very much for your time.
kakatotti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2010, 03:23 AM   #2
2NRSTV
Team Exile/ADO Garage
 
2NRSTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Monterey, CA
Age: 27
Posts: 741
 


Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)

Default

It means that the ECU is reading low resistance. It could mean that you have a bad IAT Sensor, a bad ECU (Probably not), or an open (short) in the positive or ground.

Get a voltmeter. Unplug the IAT from the connector and hook the voltmeter to the positive and negative of the IAT sensor. Turn the key to the ON position (DO NOT turn the engine on). And measure voltage. It should be close to 5volts.

If you get close to 5 volts - Sensor is bad.
If you get 0 volts - Short in positive or ground wire.
If you get over 5 volts - Bad resistor in ECU
__________________
Feel free to visit TeamExile.Org to ask questions.
Or Email me directly to Tuner Steve
2NRSTV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2010, 01:46 AM   #3
kakatotti
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: San Francisco, California
Posts: 53
 
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)

Default

Hey,
I'm still having problem with this code and now I have the code P0171 "system too lean (bank 1).

Can I use a GB instrument GMT-12A" as a volrmeter to test the sensor?
DO you pics to where the sensor might be and how I can go about connecting the voltmeter to the sensor to check if it is bad.

Thanks
kakatotti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2010, 12:47 AM   #4
kakatotti
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: San Francisco, California
Posts: 53
 
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)

Default

Hey,
I'm still having problem with this code and now I have the code P0171 "system too lean (bank 1).

Can I use a GB instrument GMT-12A" as a volrmeter to test the sensor?
DO you pics to where the sensor might be and how I can go about connecting the voltmeter to the sensor to check if it is bad.

Thanks
kakatotti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2010, 01:39 AM   #5
2NRSTV
Team Exile/ADO Garage
 
2NRSTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Monterey, CA
Age: 27
Posts: 741
 


Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)

Default

Yes, you can use the GMT-12A to test the sensor.
This is the best I could do for a pic since I don't have a D16Y8 engine.

It's the sensor with 2 wires that is plugged into the intake tract. It should be just before the throttle body.
Unplug the connector from the sensor and put the positive (red) lead to the red/yellow wire on the plug and the negative (black) lead to the green/black wire on the plug.
__________________
Feel free to visit TeamExile.Org to ask questions.
Or Email me directly to Tuner Steve
2NRSTV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2010, 05:25 PM   #6
kakatotti
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: San Francisco, California
Posts: 53
 
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)

Default

Hey,

Nothings happens when I put the GMT. No voltage, nothing. Can this be a sign that I need a new sensor?
How can a replace the sensor? What tools am I going to need? Thanks
kakatotti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2010, 05:36 PM   #7
XpL0d3r
What Civic?

 
XpL0d3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Rochester
Age: 25
Posts: 5,906
 


Thanks: 42
Thanked 66 Times in 60 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kakatotti View Post
Hey,

Nothings happens when I put the GMT. No voltage, nothing. Can this be a sign that I need a new sensor?
How can a replace the sensor? What tools am I going to need? Thanks
If you're getting nothing that usually means there is a short somewhere.. typically if it were the sensor you would get some sort of voltage (probably much lower) because it's still getting power. Check the wiring to see if there are any damaged wires anywhere.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bhikku View Post
At least i have a banjo coming in the mail, i had ordered it while drunk as f*** on saturday....i have no idea how to play a god damn banjo...

( '02 Acura RSX Type-S | '05 Kawasaki Ninja 500RR | '97 Honda Civic B18 Turbo | '05 Infiniti G35 Coupe (SOLD) )

XpL0d3r is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply




Bookmarks



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
P0505 Code, got new IACV, code returned JohnS. Engine Tech / Drivetrain 49 04-04-2013 12:01 AM
96 Civic Communications Error when scanned, Gets no readinds, running rich Mcgarvie51 Engine Tech / Drivetrain 21 02-21-2011 06:27 PM
Help ASAP, car shut off, code 20 NoWayBack91Si Tech Archive (No Posting) 16 10-01-2007 03:42 PM
ctr trans stamp code and gsr head code? what are they? nurevEKcivic00 Engine Tech / Drivetrain 2 05-27-2007 01:54 PM
the code for my car............>??????????????? cole Tech Archive (No Posting) 11 09-15-2004 10:35 AM

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vB.Sponsors
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.3 (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2007 ClubCivic.com
Best Prices on Aftermarket Car Performance Parts
Freelance Web Design

Store News:

Latest Topics:


Store Specials:

ALL
Unanswered Topics:





Copyright 2011 ClubCivic.com - ClubCivic.com is in no way affiliated with Honda Motor Company