Search:
Attention Honda Civic Visitor:  Remove this block by logging in above or registering.

Welcome to ClubCivic

Club Civic is an online Honda Civic forum and community for all Honda Civic enthusiasts. Whether you own a Honda Civic Si, Ex, Type R, Dx, Lx, Cx, Dx, Vx, or even a hybrid you will find valuable information and car parts on this site. Take a look around to view Honda Civic discussion; including a photo gallery, maintenance information, tech tips, as well as ways to get better performance from your Honda Civic. Visit the member’s garage to view and rate other member’s Honda Civics. Click here to start viewing the Honda Civic Forums. Before you start posting on this site you will need to register. If you are already registered and not logged in, please login here.

Browse the forums by generation by clicking below or browse all honda civic forums.


Go Back   ClubCivic.com - Honda Civic Forum > Honda Civic Technical > Engine Tech / Drivetrain

Notices

Please SEARCH Before Posting a New Thread. ->
Ready to Post a New Thread/Question? ->  



K20 swap info 96 dx coupe

Engine Tech / Drivetrain


Technical forums are exclusively for technical discussions.
Thread Makers: Thread titles must summarize the technical question or problem, and the first post must include the year, trim, and any mods for your Civic.
Responding Members:
Limit your posts to helpful responses, and do not tell members to "Go Search", unless you also provide some specific guidance on the technical question or problem.
All Members: Rude or flaming posts will not be tolerated, though civil debate and disagreement are acceptable.

User Tag List


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-02-2013, 07:32 PM   #1
Chris'
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Ontario
Posts: 20
 
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)

Default K20 swap info 96 dx coupe

Curious on what is needed for the swap. Parts, wiring, mounts, ect.. Any recommendations would be a big help thanks guys
Chris' is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 08:12 PM   #2
CHILD
All Day, All JDM
 
CHILD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: in a small room
Age: 31
Posts: 5,885
 
Thanks: 8
Thanked 80 Times in 70 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)

Default

Engine, transmission, ecu w/immobilizer bypass or kpro/aem ems, wiring harness, conversion harness, axles, swap mounts, shifter mechanism, shifter cables, swap header, modified fuel setup, modified radiator and hoses, b series temp and fan switches.

Id recommend hybrid-racing.com because i basically own everything they offer.
__________________

flickr ~MY EKK24A2 BUILD
VIDEO UPDATES: DYNO TUNE 220/167!
Quote:
Originally Posted by emerican View Post
there is nothing in the world that can replace a child
^ see what i did there
CHILD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 08:40 PM   #3
Jeffhondadc5
Registered User
 
Jeffhondadc5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: 845/412
Posts: 814
 
Thanks: 3
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)

Default

Might be useful to use the eg/dc subframe with the ek as well.

Leaves more room in the bay and much better angles for the axles.
__________________
"Coupe Life" Member #3
Jeffhondadc5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 09:43 PM   #4
Chris'
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Ontario
Posts: 20
 
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)

Default

Any downside to sub Frame swap^^^.
Chris' is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 09:57 PM   #5
Jeffhondadc5
Registered User
 
Jeffhondadc5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: 845/412
Posts: 814
 
Thanks: 3
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris' View Post
Any downside to sub Frame swap^^^.
There's limited room in the bay cause the motor sits so far forward. You can't run a larger intake manifold or larger radiator.

Like I said, the axles as well.. different angles. They don't tend the hold up as well with the ek subframe.

IMO, if you have the money for a k-swap.. you can do the subframe swap too. It's worth it IMHO.

Goodluck
__________________
"Coupe Life" Member #3
Jeffhondadc5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 12:20 AM   #6
CHILD
All Day, All JDM
 
CHILD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: in a small room
Age: 31
Posts: 5,885
 
Thanks: 8
Thanked 80 Times in 70 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)

Default

With that subframe mentality you would end up upgrading tons of parts. Although beneficial, its not necessary for a plain swap.

If you do switch subframes, then you need eg/dc lca's, you may need a different U joint for the steering column depending on what subframe you start with and switch to.
__________________

flickr ~MY EKK24A2 BUILD
VIDEO UPDATES: DYNO TUNE 220/167!
Quote:
Originally Posted by emerican View Post
there is nothing in the world that can replace a child
^ see what i did there
CHILD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 01:37 AM   #7
Jeffhondadc5
Registered User
 
Jeffhondadc5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: 845/412
Posts: 814
 
Thanks: 3
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CHILD View Post
With that subframe mentality you would end up upgrading tons of parts. Although beneficial, its not necessary for a plain swap.

If you do switch subframes, then you need eg/dc lca's, you may need a different U joint for the steering column depending on what subframe you start with and switch to.
It's not necessary but it''s worth it IMO
__________________
"Coupe Life" Member #3
Jeffhondadc5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 09:39 AM   #8
Jeffhondadc5
Registered User
 
Jeffhondadc5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: 845/412
Posts: 814
 
Thanks: 3
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CHILD View Post
With that subframe mentality you would end up upgrading tons of parts. Although beneficial, its not necessary for a plain swap.

If you do switch subframes, then you need eg/dc lca's, you may need a different U joint for the steering column depending on what subframe you start with and switch to.
Are you not swapping out your subframe?
__________________
"Coupe Life" Member #3
Jeffhondadc5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 05:04 PM   #9
CHILD
All Day, All JDM
 
CHILD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: in a small room
Age: 31
Posts: 5,885
 
Thanks: 8
Thanked 80 Times in 70 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeffhondadc5 View Post
Are you not swapping out your subframe?
I am, but that's just so i can stay low and to cover my future power plans with the k24. The higher torque output along with my performance plans will be hard on the axles with ekk1's. Otherwise I would have been saving a lot of time and money with leaving the stock subframe in place. A plain k20 is just fine with ekk1's. Think about all the years that k's have been around prior to the subframe and mounts upgrade. It never was aproblem, it's just better now....and more expensive.
__________________

flickr ~MY EKK24A2 BUILD
VIDEO UPDATES: DYNO TUNE 220/167!
Quote:
Originally Posted by emerican View Post
there is nothing in the world that can replace a child
^ see what i did there
CHILD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 12:39 PM   #10
Jeffhondadc5
Registered User
 
Jeffhondadc5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: 845/412
Posts: 814
 
Thanks: 3
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CHILD View Post
I am, but that's just so i can stay low and to cover my future power plans with the k24. The higher torque output along with my performance plans will be hard on the axles with ekk1's. Otherwise I would have been saving a lot of time and money with leaving the stock subframe in place. A plain k20 is just fine with ekk1's. Think about all the years that k's have been around prior to the subframe and mounts upgrade. It never was aproblem, it's just better now....and more expensive.
Yeah I hear what your saying..

IMO I would still swap it out either way but I know what you mean. Defiantly more cheaper as well.

What axles would you go with though? Keeping the stock ek subframe with ekk1 mounts.
__________________
"Coupe Life" Member #3
Jeffhondadc5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 06:14 PM   #11
CHILD
All Day, All JDM
 
CHILD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: in a small room
Age: 31
Posts: 5,885
 
Thanks: 8
Thanked 80 Times in 70 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)

Default

An OEM combo. Base rsx with swapped inners. Stock ones are pretty durable and much cheaper to replace if that's ever needed. Some people are thrifty and use the warranty autozone base rsx axles so they can replace them with no issues
__________________

flickr ~MY EKK24A2 BUILD
VIDEO UPDATES: DYNO TUNE 220/167!
Quote:
Originally Posted by emerican View Post
there is nothing in the world that can replace a child
^ see what i did there
CHILD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 07:09 PM   #12
Jeffhondadc5
Registered User
 
Jeffhondadc5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: 845/412
Posts: 814
 
Thanks: 3
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)

Default

Hmm autozone warranties they're axles? That's a thought too.

Wouldn't ep3 axles work as well?
__________________
"Coupe Life" Member #3
Jeffhondadc5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 07:12 PM   #13
CHILD
All Day, All JDM
 
CHILD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: in a small room
Age: 31
Posts: 5,885
 
Thanks: 8
Thanked 80 Times in 70 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)

Default

Ep3 and base rsx are basically three same, so yes. Price changes between the two sometimes, so it's best to check the local pricing on each. Some places treat the ep3 like a "sports car" and raise prices
__________________

flickr ~MY EKK24A2 BUILD
VIDEO UPDATES: DYNO TUNE 220/167!
Quote:
Originally Posted by emerican View Post
there is nothing in the world that can replace a child
^ see what i did there
CHILD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 07:15 PM   #14
Jeffhondadc5
Registered User
 
Jeffhondadc5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: 845/412
Posts: 814
 
Thanks: 3
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CHILD View Post
Ep3 and base rsx are basically three same, so yes. Price changes between the two sometimes, so it's best to check the local pricing on each. Some places treat the ep3 like a "sports car" and raise prices
Lol I have noticed that..

Thanks for the useful information though.
__________________
"Coupe Life" Member #3
Jeffhondadc5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply




Bookmarks



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
98 ex coupe k20 with questions?????? bhawk1987 Show off your 6th Generation Honda Civic (1996-2000) 2 01-15-2011 08:25 AM
b18 or k20 for 99 civic coupe RidnCleanOn17s Engine Tech / Drivetrain 7 10-29-2010 09:52 PM
K20 Engine - Coupe Conversion moleykart Tech Archive (No Posting) 16 09-05-2009 01:34 PM
K20 in a 98 EX coupe anyone know if it has been done? CivicVelox17 Tech Archive (No Posting) 25 12-22-2003 09:55 PM

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vB.Sponsors
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.3 (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2007 ClubCivic.com
Best Prices on Aftermarket Car Performance Parts
Freelance Web Design

Store News:

Latest Topics:


Store Specials:

ALL
Unanswered Topics:





Copyright 2011 ClubCivic.com - ClubCivic.com is in no way affiliated with Honda Motor Company