who knows alot about .22 rifles?

JohnS.

BANGARANG
Registered VIP
Registered OG
5+ Year Member
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Before I begin, I know nothing about guns / rifles. So bare with me.

I want to get a .22 rifle. Why a .22? Just because I'm new to guns and I want to start off with small game / target stuff. I've shot a .30-30 deer rifle before and a 20 gauge shotgun and that's not something I want to jump into as a beginner lol. I've been down to my buddy's camp near the lake tons of times and we've shot his .22 a few times and I just love it. It's easy and fun. Besides, I know they're pretty cheap.

I went to Gander Mountain earlier and talked to one of the guys at the firearm section and he seemed to know a s**t ton. He recommended this Ruger 10/22 and I pretty much loved it the moment I held it and aimed it up. I didn't like some of the other .22's because the stock / sights didn't fit my neck / head / shoulder very well. I had to lift my head up off the stock to be able to get the sights aimed up and stuff. I probably held somewhere around 15-20 different .22's and the Ruger one seemed to feel the best.

Anyone else have recommendations? My price cap is $200, which would allow me to get that Ruger 10/22. I plan on getting a shotgun later on to do clay pigeon shooting with my buddy since he does it too.

$lick Rick

TEOTWAWKI
Registered VIP
Registered OG
5+ Year Member
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
ruger 10/22

/thread

i have 3... and the 17hmr lever action version... and the charger pistol version....
http://www.ruger-firearms.com/Firearms/FAProdView?model=4901&return=Y

if you ask 1000 gun nuts, 995 of them will recommend the 10/22 as your first .22 rifle
it's just one of those things.... the basics for modding a civic are i/h/e... the basics for buying your first .22 rifle is "10/22"

JohnS.

BANGARANG
Registered VIP
Registered OG
5+ Year Member
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member