00 Ex Coupe has vtec?

autocrosser09

5+ Year Member
Hey i'm getting mixed answers as to what engine my car has. it is a 2000 Civic Ex Coupe. I believe that it is the d16y8. but is it vtec?

thanks.

slomotion

Banned
k

there are several different ways to indentify your engine, seeing as im a lazy ass and dont want to type it out, I will say buy a manual or google honda engine identification codes. IMO go buy the manual and get under the hood of your car and learn it inside out! youll save tons of cash on repairs if nothing else.

Esotericimage

Taking an H-T break
Registered VIP
5+ Year Member
there are several different ways to indentify your engine, seeing as im a lazy ass and dont want to type it out, I will say buy a manual or google honda engine identification codes. IMO go buy the manual and get under the hood of your car and learn it inside out! youll save tons of cash on repairs if nothing else.
X2

autocrosser09

5+ Year Member
Sorry i'm kinda new to civics. just got mine a bit ago. I thought that if it was vtec it would say it on the engine?

Docta2002

Registered VIP
5+ Year Member
It does say it, there's a very-visible vtec solenoid 'right there'!

Billy.

Has returned ;-)
Registered VIP
Registered OG
5+ Year Member
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
the older civic EX's had a valve cover that said VTEC on it. your model year didnt have that valve cover, but basically its the same motor

brent_si™

Ballers roll 20+ psi
5+ Year Member
It should say your engine code on the engine block on the left side under cyl # 4 exhaust port. and civic HX is a d16y5 is VTEC-E d16y8 is full sohc VTEC.

daishi17

5+ Year Member
yea it has the almighty vtec in, i have the same year and model. d16y8 the only way it wont be the same motor is if it was swapped or something.

autocrosser09

5+ Year Member
Alright thanks guys. i'll check the side and see what it says. and it isn't a swap. not fast enough...

again. thanks

J_Uhrig87

bestofbothworlds
Registered VIP