Coolant leak?

GummyBear

5+ Year Member
i noticed my coolant reservoir was low and thought it might just be because i havent added any coolant in forever... so i added some right upto the max line. couple of days later i notice my car's cold/hot gauge is going up and down... i also felt as though i havent heard my fan turn on in a long time but i attributed that to the fact its pretty cold(winter). today i was driving and noticed some stream coming out of my hood and when i popped the hood i noticed some coolant above my fan area and the spongy part was wet as well... any ideas what might be wrong and how i should go about this? if it is truly a radiator leak i'm not sure i can handle that myself as i'm just a novice when it comes to cars. anyhow my thoughts is to try to test the fan somehow to make sure it works and to see if maybe its the switch, if its not the switch/fan then i will test the thermostat by removing it and putting it in some hot water(will coolant come out if i remove the thermostat?, i mean all of the coolant as i know some will come out). what i am hoping is it to be one of the above problems and not a actual radiator leak... btw if it is one of the things i listed, would it stop leaking or will i have to replace the radiator no matter what?

thanks for reading and any help will be appreciated. oh yeah my car is a 1996 honda civic dx with 229k miles. pretty much stock everything.

also i forgot to mention, if my fan goes bad or the switch or the thermostat wouldnt a CEL come on?

2slo4u

wait4me
Registered VIP
Registered OG
5+ Year Member
10+ Year Member
test your fan out. connect the positive/negative to the battery and it should come on
yes some antifreeze will come out if you take out the thermostat because you have to take off the lower hose of the radiator.actually..alot of fluid might come out
but if your radiator is getting wet on top..it might have a crack :thumbdown:

UCCRacing

No Fun
Registered VIP
5+ Year Member