driving in the snow

HatchmanEJ6

Mmmonocle smile!
Registered VIP
5+ Year Member
ok im new to snow this year. tonight was my first time driving in the snow. it sucks, but im sure you all know this. lemme start by saying i know how to drive stick properly ( not mashing the clutch, releasing the clutch and pressing the gas correctly etc) what i found that happened is my tires would spin just getting out of first with me doing like 5mph. now is this due to my tires sucking and i need winter tires? ( i plan on doing this anyway because i havent changed them since moving from florida) or do i need weight in my trunk or something? I dunno theres gotta be another way to deal with this. The slow driving doesnt bother me. the lack of control does. any help is appreciated.

JohnS.

BANGARANG
Registered VIP
Registered OG
5+ Year Member
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Driving in the snow takes skill. Yes, skill. Most cars you see off the road are 1. idiots 2. people who can't drive 3. SUV's who think they own the road.

There's no way around losing control. Just drive slower. You obviously have to take your turns slower, you have to be careful how you approach stop signs and red lights that are on hills, etc. You might even have to take different routes to avoid hills if you're having a tough time starting in first. When you're actually moving though, the lower the RPM's, the better. So, the higher the gear, the better. Same goes with starting. Try starting in 2nd. Don't romp on the gas. Spinning will get you no where. If it's cold enough, all you're doing is heating up your tires, melting a little of the snow but more so packing it down, and it's already cold out enough to freeze again and it'll just create a layer of ice for you to slide on.