please help me find out if my civic is vtec?

milagro33

5+ Year Member
Ok guys so i just bought a used 96' EX coupe with a d16y7 swap i was told it has vtec but after reading about the d16y7 engines everyone says their not.vtec. Is there anyway besides the engine code to find out? I know it could have a different head but dont know how to tell. It seems pretty quick. Alot more peppy than people describe the d16y7 but i wanna know for sure. Any information would be greatly appreciated! Im a noob to the honda world but loving it so far!

Thanks!

Ed[K*]

GO! GO! GADGET VTEC!
Registered VIP
5+ Year Member
lulz at "peppy"

anyway, welcome =)
wth would they swap a y7? did you ask why they did that? just curious :P
if im not mistaken, all ex's 96-00 came with a d16y8 stock and yes those are vtec only
d16y7 do not have vtec BUT can be installed...simply look under your hood and look for
this green solenoid:

orrr just go into an overpass and floor it and wait for vteeeeeccc to engage lmao

use this btw, should help :thumbs up good luck!:
http://www.honda-tech.com/showthread.php?t=554053

emerican

Registered VIP
welcome
I would have defintly asked them why they did that swap and why they lied to you telling you it was vtec.

R3dline

Respected
Registered VIP
Registered OG
5+ Year Member
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
^ not always, you can just put a differnt valve cover on to be cool

mymmeryloss

RHD is where its at
Registered VIP
Registered OG
5+ Year Member
10+ Year Member
^cuz everyone knows if u don't have vtec, then u ain't cool :thumbs up:

emerican

Registered VIP
^ of course man you cant be cool without vtec lol
Some auto tranny models dont say vtec either, but they are

lethal6

Your Mom's Moderator
Staff member
Registered VIP
Registered OG
5+ Year Member
10+ Year Member
[QUOTE='Ed[K*];3095672'...simply look under your hood and look for
this green solenoid:

[/QUOTE]