Idle problem, think its electrical related.

DavidR

5+ Year Member
This is probably talked about a lot in this forum but didn't find a related thread plus folks tend to not give any input on an older thread. I've been through 4 civics 6th gen models only and have had this annoying issue when ever im fully stopped like at a red light the idle will rise and fall, rise and fall not to mention the annoying bogging chatter sound that makes me want to drive the car off a bridge, coming from the front end when the rpms fall. This only happens when I have my foot on the brake and seems to be worse when I have my head lights on in addition to having my foot on the brake. If I cut the lights and use the e brake rather than hold the brake peddle down it idles fine so most likely its electrical. If I roll my window up rpms drop and the engine bogs down even windshield wipers working it causes it to bog down. What components can be causing this. This is my first time getting into electrical so I don't know where or what to start looking at but Im at the point where I need to get this sh*t resolved because it's driving me mad, I don't want to take it to a shop either, I'd like to fix the problem my self to learn and sense of joy after a job well done.

Last edited by a moderator:

RonJ

Banned
Clean the IACV and test or have the alternator tested.

DavidR

5+ Year Member
I cleaned it during the first few weeks after I bought it a couple months back at which the idle was still acting up prior to cleaning it, as for the alternator is there any maintenance besides changing belts that's derectlly related to the alternator like brushes? can I test it using a multimeter or do I need some special device?

RonJ

Banned
can I test it using a multimeter?
Yes

With the engine warm and idling normally with all accessories off, measure voltage across the 2 battery posts.