Repair Rust Around Wheels: 91 Civic

Farquea

My wife acquired a 91 Civic a few months ago from her Nanna with about 120ks on the clock. In general in its pretty good condition, I have a list of few things that we are going to try and sort out if possible but the first one that I'm worried about is the rust along the bottom near the rear wheels.

Can anyone suggest whats the best thing to do here, smash out all the rust and fill it with something? I'm just worried the rust might go a lot deeper than it appears and before i know it half the car is falling out as i hit it out!

I've attached some pics.

Attachments

daperez13

Respected
You should definitely inspect the underside of the car and any panel from the inside, where paint most likely did not coat the metal properly. Based on what I've seen and heard, most people cut out that piece of rusted metal and replace it by welding that section back in and then grinding the weld(s) smooth.

I'm no expert on this matter but based on the pictures, the rust doesn't look too bad. You should be able to sand/grind all that rust off and fill it with bondo/filler.

Car looks pretty clean otherwise, you should perform any maintenance due. 120K is nothing if that car was maintained properly.

HeX

Authoritah, respected.
Staff member
Registered VIP
5+ Year Member
10+ Year Member
@Farquea , that rust looks to be worse than you think. Grind it all down until there is absolutely no loose rust left, then apply Ospho to convert the iron oxide (rust) into iron phosphate. That should buy you time to figure out if you want to have it properly fixed with new metal or rig it another way.

Mr.Baker

Mr. Search
Registered VIP
5+ Year Member
10+ Year Member
Can anyone suggest whats the best thing to do here, smash out all the rust and fill it with something? I'm just worried the rust might go a lot deeper than it appears and before i know it half the car is falling out as i hit it out!
It's always worse than it looks on this generation.