"The Mothership" - 1998 Civic - Maintenance Log

ctag

fill it with wires!
Registered VIP
5+ Year Member
10+ Year Member
Today was wash-n-wax day. Clearcoat failure is spreading on the roof and trunk. Added to that is tree sap that's etching little blobs all over :???: I polished as much of the sap away on the roof and trunk, and then waxed the whole car.

I got a chance to polish the new clearcoat on the passenger door. It definitely turned out better than I expected :thumbs up Go back a few posts and compare to the "before" pictures if you like.

The painted section is still clearly visible, but blends in much better now, and I'm certainly happy with the result. This is now added to my toolbelt of car care processes, though next time I want to polish off any wax before adding the new clearcoat as well.

Schleeb

Just read this entire thread and man, you're a freaking inspiration! I'm a mechanical engineer and I've never attempted anything like what you've achieved here. But I just bought a raggedy old '96 Civic Coupe almost exactly like yours and I plan to jump into fixing it just like you did with yours. Keep up the awesome work man!! :D

ctag

fill it with wires!
Registered VIP
5+ Year Member
10+ Year Member
Just read this entire thread and man, you're a freaking inspiration!
Thanks! Feedback like that makes writing for this thread worthwhile :mrgreen:

But I just bought a raggedy old '96 Civic Coupe almost exactly like yours and I plan to jump into fixing it just like you did with yours. Keep up the awesome work man!! :D
Congrats on your new Civic! I look forward to seeing what you do with it :thumbs up

ctag

fill it with wires!
Registered VIP
5+ Year Member
10+ Year Member
Changed the Torco out for Honda MTF in the transmission for winter. The Torco was very clean as it drained, which is encouraging.