1992 civic si issues, first time working on a car.

Keep the civic and make it a project?

• Yes

Votes: 1 50.0%
  • No

Votes: 1 50.0%

• Total voters

GrumpyBSTRD

Hi everyone, thank you for looking at my post. I appreciate anyone's input and advice, I will take any price of Advice I can get. Especially since this is my first time getting deep into fixing a car in which I am interested in and always have been.
So a couple of days ago I bought a 1992 Honda Civic si with 216 k miles on a D16z6 ( but wierdly enough I don't see the vtec on the cover )
Engine still runs well for its age, interior is in amazing shape as well, exterior was definitely not taken care of. I'll post pictures as soon as I can figure this out on my cell phone.

So without further delay im gonna list the problems

- electrical: dash lights don't turn on, but warning lights work fine. Bulbs are fine for the cluster, I trailed this to the dimmer being bad so I jumped the wires and turned the lights on and hey it work. But I haven't solved the the climate lights and all the fuses are fine so that's not the case and my wiring is extremely nice for its age.

- mechanical: this is the fun part
Idle: revs go up and down at a stop when in neutral or clutch pressed down. I'm thinking it's either the tps and or dirty throttle body.
-Power steering pump is going out, also found out today that the rack and pinion is leaking fluid so it's shot as well. Might explain the extremely loose steering wheel (or it could be its age)
- timing belt (might or might not, no history known of whether it has been changed)
- spark plugs (easy)
- I don't know the name, maybe it's the shift linkage but it has a heavy amount of grease that doesn't look great. I'll post pictures so you can see if it needs to be replaced.
- transmission: reverse grinds even when clutch is fully pressed down, second grinds every now and then. First is a little notchy to get in ( I hear it's most likely the age)