2001 Civic EX

Marcoss_98

Hi guys I'm new to this, I just got my car and I'm not really that experienced with Mods and stuff. So I wanted to see if anybody knew what kind of small upgrades I can do for now. And if doing an engine swap would be a good idea.

5SpeedEJ6

Respected
Registered VIP
There are 1001 small upgrades you can do to your car. I would suggest starting with things that the car NEEDS today. You could do some looking around the engine bay and see if there is any sings of needed maintenance (like oil leaks, bad wiring, etc). Also look at your suspension components for anything worn out ( such as blown shocks, bad ball joints, worn out tie rods, etc).
After some of these things are taken care of, I'd do some research on things you would like to replace to learn more about your car. Some examples could be coilovers (to lower your car), aftermarket intake (fairly easy to do), new headers/exhaust (sometimes can be a pain because of rusty bolts), newer seats (there are threads out there that show you compatibility between other Hondas), aftermarket HIDs (also simple to replace), and anything else you can think of.
I'd also suggest doing a lot of researching before doing any type of work on your car, to make sure you do not encounter anything you don't know how to do/fix.
So in conclusion: LOTS AND LOTS OF RESEARCH. That is the best way to gain knowledge, that will translate into experience.
Best of luck.

Marcoss_98

Currently I am waiting in parts for the right side of my suspension bcuz it needs replacing due to nasty moving of car while driving, everything else in the car is good. Thanks for the tips, and I sure will do lots of research before doing anything big on my car.

nd4sped

Registered VIP
Registered OG
5+ Year Member
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Good reply above, maintenance for reliability then get to the fun stuff.

Diana Nam

Respected
Registered VIP