2001 EX overheating, multiple conflicting symptoms

MetroShop_2000

Hello all… I’m new to Civics (my buddy just bought one for his son). However, I’m not new to wrenching or online forums. Forums have saved me many headaches and money so… THANK YOU to all the pros on these sites that help us home mechanics out.

The car I’m helping out with is a 2001 Civic EX, 4 dr, A/T with 135k miles and apparently, according to the prvious owner, a new/rebuilt transmission. He just bought the car a month ago. Within days, it threw CEL related to the shift solenoid. I have since removed the solenoid and cleaned it, reinstalled and the CEL has been off since. Now he’s having overheating problems. I’ve read many posts on this forum as well as other forums, including great write-ups on overheating troubleshooting and the extensive post of diagnosing blown head gaskets. Breaking down the symptoms he’s having, they are related to various individual problems. However, I’d like to post all the symptoms together in case they cumulatively mean something else.

I’d like to thank all the pros on here in advance.

Last week, the temperature gauge shot up to the red then dropped to normal range within minutes. It continued to fluctuate.

The heater does not blow hot air.

It overheated 2 days ago. His daughter pulled over and had to add water to the reservoir tank.

I test drove it around the block for 5-10 minutes last night. Here are my observations:

-The temp gauge shot up to the red line and remained there.

-Heater not blowing hot air

-Upper radiator hose piping hot, lower hose barely warm.

-AC/heater actuator/blend door functions properly

-Fans operate properly

-Coolant leaking somewhere behind the drive belt (evident steam and sizzling sound)

-Visible drips of fresh coolant along the main crankshaft pulley where it meets the block