94 civic engine damage: need advice

melissavwillis

Ok so I have a 94 civic that no longer works. The sparks plug melted inside the engine. Would it be better to rebuild, get another engine, or sale the car? Thanks for any help!

Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk

dancam

Registered VIP
The sparks plug melted inside the engine.

It depends on what happened. Could you explain this a bit more? What happened to cause this or why did it occur? Any other damage? What would the value of the car be TO YOU running?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

melissavwillis

I drove it home. When I pulled in to the drive way it started smoking. Had someone look at it. Says plugs were melted. No other damage that I can tell but I'm not a mechanic lol. I like the car. It's just one of those things...do I keep and fix or sale.

lethal6

Your Mom's Moderator
Staff member
Registered VIP
Registered OG
5+ Year Member
10+ Year Member
Just based on your posts here. Sell the car and start over.

dancam

Registered VIP
If thats all the info you can provide us no one here can give you a good answer. Your best bet is to tow it to a mechanic shop and get a quote to fix it. That will tell you what you want to do.

XpL0d3r

I had a Civic once.
Staff member
Registered VIP
Registered OG
5+ Year Member
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Questions to ask your mechanic:

What side are the plugs melted on? If near the wires, replace the wires. If the other end, were the plugs incorrectly / not gapped? Is it every plug, or just from one cylinder? One cylinder only could mean that you have a bad fuel injector, so that cylinder runs lean.. this could also damage the valves.

HeX

Authoritah, respected.
Staff member
Registered VIP
5+ Year Member
10+ Year Member
If thats all the info you can provide us no one here can give you a good answer. Your best bet is to tow it to a mechanic shop and get a quote to fix it. That will tell you what you want to do.