97 EK sedan project

streetlifestyle

This car has been in my family ever since but it was kept stock until i got it.

D15B 3stage VTEC with CVT tranny
All engine parts are stock.

I am planning to upgrade to a b16a but i am seriously considering building the internals.
I want this car to be a fun daily driver but mean enough to at least keep up with a stock b18.
I need to keep transmission since my wife will aso be using this vehicle.
Also keeping this build NA.

Any advice???
(im a noob in engine builds)

cgpEJ6

noob
Registered VIP
Registered OG
5+ Year Member
10+ Year Member
I've you're going to stay NA you should definitely go DOHC. While it's possible to get power out of a SOHC motor, it's way too costly to be practical without boost.

streetlifestyle

I've you're going to stay NA you should definitely go DOHC. While it's possible to get power out of a SOHC motor, it's way too costly to be practical without boost.
thanks.
Ive heard the same opinion from my friends.
I have decided to go with a B16A engine and use the tranny from the B18C.

Will be using these engine mods:
S2 pistons
Mugen gasket
S2 cams
S2 70mm throttle body
S2 intake manifold with AEM CAI and power filter
S2 power headers

Trying to achieve 175-200 whp

any advice guys??

CivEX_00

5+ Year Member
well idk where your gonna get a b18c auto trans...CVT is auto but a b16 with those mods and cams i dont see why you couldnt reach at least 175whp.

CO671

Registered VIP
thanks.
Ive heard the same opinion from my friends.
I have decided to go with a B16A engine and use the tranny from the B18C.

Will be using these engine mods:
S2 pistons
Mugen gasket
S2 cams
S2 70mm throttle body
S2 intake manifold with AEM CAI and power filter
S2 power headers

Trying to achieve 175-200 whp

any advice guys??
Are you going to put the engine together yourself? What are your funds/budget.