A Beginners Guide To Forced-Induction.

TokyoSkies

Boost Junkie
Registered VIP
5+ Year Member
So in the past few days, I must have posted 4 or 5 times in regards to this very subject. In lieu of that, I decided it'd be a good time to post a beginners guide to boosting a Honda (or any 4 cylinder engine, for that matter). I'm by no means an expert, or a professional mechanic, so this guide should serve as a simple reference. I'm not liable or responsible for any damage you may cause to your engine or car!

With that outta the way:

The questions I get asked the most are:
"HEY GUISE, I HAVE (so and so) MOTOR, HOW MUCH BOOST CAN IT HANDLE!? :D :D"

and

"Can I boost my car on a budget? I'm talking like $600!"

We'll start off with the first question. A lot of people are starting to boost (or attempt to boost) Hondas now. I see more and more people slapping SS Autochrome (now defunct, under another name) turbo kits on their D16y8's and cranking the boost to 18psi. This is a BAD idea. Boosting a car properly requires a lot of research, planning, and most importantly MONEY. This is not a cheap hobby at all, but it can be very rewarding if done right!
To properly explain what engine can handle what etc., you first have to understand what a turbo does. Rather than writing it up, I'll link to an external site explaining the basics of a turbo:
http://auto.howstuffworks.com/turbo.htm