auto to manual keep or sell?

ej6society

So i am new to this, i just wanted to see your guys opinion. i have a 98 civic ex, it has low mileage, i know these engines arent very powerfull as it is a d series but its an auto which makes it worse, my tranny was been starting to slip and i had plans of converting it to manual once it went out. do you think i should just sell it or convert it?

Genyc07

What's your skill level can you do it yourself do you have the tools? Are you happy with your car any other problems? If everything is green light then make the swap. Yes to all of those questions then I would sell and buy what u want

XpL0d3r

I had a Civic once.
Staff member
Registered VIP
Registered OG
5+ Year Member
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
I converted my car from auto to manual back in 2009 or so. I had very little knowledge at the time, though the person who was helping me knew quite a bit.

Honestly, it wasn't that bad. The worst part was putting the pedals in. Cost me less than $600 total and we did it in a weekend. I was very happy with the outcome. The only way you can tell that it was an auto previously was because you could start it without pushing the clutch in (no clutch safety switch), and the cluster was automatic so the P was always illuminated.

ej6society

well it only has 157k miles and everything works good, i really like the car as this is my first civic and i always wanted one, the only thing is that i feel like my tranny is starting to slip and as for the skill level, i dont know much but my cousin offered to do it for free and he knows what he is doing i plan on learning atleast something from there.

also where can i find good parts for cheap?

Last edited by a moderator:

Genyc07