b20b vtec build

89y49rexsi

twinke team bio
5+ Year Member
hey yall im semi new so ihope that this is the right section for this but here goes

now keep inmind that i have swapped a motor before but i have never built one before so try to help me out

i am going to build a b20b vtec with obviously a b20b block and a b16 head
the reason i am using a b16a head is because that is what i already have
the block has a spun #3 rob bearing so im buying it for 100 and im going to use acl race bearings and a new oem oil pump

the head is going to be p&p and im having supertech bronze valve guides along with brian crower dual valve springs and titanium retainers installed with a set of stage 2 skunk2 cams and some aem trutime cam gears

the block has allready has the oil sending unit tapped and has the dowels for a b16a head so the only thing as far as an ls vtec kit iwill need is arp head studs and a golden eagle b20b modded head gasket and an oil line for the head

and i have been told that i need to have one of the oil gallys plugged and that sounds like bs to me i always thought that it had to be tapped for an oil line

here is the current parts and price list as of yet

the new price list goes as such

b20b block---100
dual valve springs and titretainers----319
bronze vavlve guides----89
stainless line-----est 20
oilline fitting on b16 head---20
acl race bearings-----100
b16a head------n/a
hytech replica header long tube------390 shipped
custome exhaust piping 2"----100
magnaflow muffler------67.99
oem oil pump-----190
skunk2 stage 2 tuner series cams------used 250 w/gears
aem trutime gears------129
obx high flow catylytic converter-----60
arp head studs------139 shipped
golden eagle metal head gasket fo modified b20b with b16 dowel----99

and the est grand total is----2,161

my budget for the engine is 2,600 and i will start collecting parts as soon as i get my disability check

if you would like to share your opinions please do