Beware buying K20/K24's.

Killa_CiViC

When Honda's Attack!
Registered VIP
5+ Year Member
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
So... I don't work for Honda, but I'm a seasoned technician and I've noticed a lot of industry trends that are finally starting to turn around and bite OEM's in the back side.

Most important is the change from 3k and 5k oil changes to a 10k and in some cases a 15k oil change.

Now, oil companies and car manufactures will tell you that you could reasonably go 10k-15k miles between oil changes.... and most manufacturers in the U.S. have changed to a 10k or 15k mile service. Most have also moved to a light weight 0w-20 synthetic oil. So what's changed with the engines or the oil to let them go so long between oil changes? Nothing. Absolutely nothing. The move to a higher mileage oil change is purely an attempt to reduce ownership cost for people who lease vehicles, which is what dealers and manufacturers want you to do... lease, not buy.
If you lease, there's no problem... you're traded out of the cars before anything starts going wrong.
Farther down the line, the high mile oil changes are causing oil consumption problem, mostly because the rings are wearing out. What we're seeing a lot of now is both engine misfires from oil blow-by deposits on valves, and oil consumption to the point of running engines low and blowing up. You'll see on my signature I work for Lexus, but the problem is industry wide... BMW is the worst with 15k oil changes... some of their engines are blowing before lease periods are even up.

:!: So why beware when buying a K20?