bleeding the clutch?

ItsAnEP3

Twin Turbo
Registered VIP
5+ Year Member
10+ Year Member
I was just wondering how are you supposed to bleed the clutch fluid? Are you supposed to hold the clutch and let it drip out or pump it like you do the brakes? I dunno, I've never done it before. Also, is it ok to use dot 3 brake fluid instead of clutch fluid?

dank24

Registered VIP
Registered OG
5+ Year Member
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
use whatever it says in the manual. But undo the clutch line, press pedal down, tighten clutch line bolt, let pedal up. Do it 3-5 times and make sure you put the cap on the clutch reservoir, plus keep it topped off.

cheezeonmakneez

love unicorns
Registered VIP
Registered OG
5+ Year Member
10+ Year Member
use whatever it says in the manual. But undo the clutch line, press pedal down, tighten clutch line bolt, let pedal up. Do it 3-5 times and make sure you put the cap on the clutch reservoir, plus keep it topped off.
I hope you mean open the bleeder valve on the slave cylinder and not the actual hose.

cheezeonmakneez

love unicorns
Registered VIP
Registered OG
5+ Year Member
10+ Year Member
I was just wondering how are you supposed to bleed the clutch fluid? Are you supposed to hold the clutch and let it drip out or pump it like you do the brakes? I dunno, I've never done it before. Also, is it ok to use dot 3 brake fluid instead of clutch fluid?
brake fluid is a type of hydraulic fluid and will work for your hydraulic clutch system as well.

dank24

Registered VIP
Registered OG
5+ Year Member
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
yea, thats what i meant

dank24

Registered VIP
Registered OG
5+ Year Member
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
dont put brake fluid in ur clutch. It has a different boiling temp and s**t, or I might be thinking about trans fluid I dunno.

NFR_AP2

Registered VIP
Registered OG
5+ Year Member