Car won't start unless I hit the gas.

Mclaren

Hello everyone I am new to Club Civic. Thank you for having me. Any suggestions on my issue are appreciated..

So my issues is I have a type R swap in a ek I had a butchered 99 harness in my 98 civic. I swapped out that for a 98 ex obd2a harness and im running a Jdm P73. Ever since I did this my car doesn't start unless I hit the gas I read the Cel by jumping out the two pin connector. It's reading code 45. To rich or to lean. I'm not a mechanic I don't know how to tell which one it is.

It does seem to surge a bit and when i hit the gas it doesn't always idle back down but sometimes it will.. If anyone could lead me in the right direction it would be greatly appreciated!

Mclaren

I am not sure what obd2a ecu to put in that has vtec. I was considering getting a conversion harness to do obd2a-obd2b so I could run my P2p. Pretty sure that was the only code blinking but I'll double check.

Also I did the ckf bypass since the B16b doesn't have one and I also only have one O2 sensor should I look into having a second installed? And wire it directly into my ecu since the 98 ex harness doesn't have a secondary o2 sensor plug

Mclaren

I knew there was a Usdm ecu I haven't been able to find one though. That site you tagged is pretty cool thanks for that but they didn't seem to have it either.

And my mechanic had a obd2b harness in the car completely butchered with like 20-30 wires cut and the B16b ran fine on the p2p. Maybe it ran fine because all of the cut wires I have no idea.

And I believe you're right about jdm ecus don't look for a second o2 sensor

Mclaren

I checked it again this for morning I have code 31, and it seems to be 55 not 45. I haven't stated my tach doesn't work also so maybe that's what code 31 is?

Mclaren

I thought fast flashes counted as 10 and slow flashes count as 1? I let the codes repeat twice in the video.