charging system question

stupidhard

BOAT KNIGHT!
im planning a swap for my 95 coupe gonna drop a b18 from an integra between the fenders. i would assume the alternator from the acura would have greater output, but im new to honda vehicles so im in the dark a little.

the alternator in my current set up seems a little anemic and things get dim when i hit the brakes or turn on the blower fan in the cabin. it seems to have so much strain on it, maybe its time to replace it. when all systems are on it makes the drive belt squeek a little and if there is moisture in the air it will squeel if i have to many things running. maybe i need to check belt tension also but any advice would be great!

-chris

SpeedTechnik

Nothing but Performance
Registered VIP
It will have a greater output because it's meant for a bigger dual cam engine instead of the sohc stock....if that what you have? . But don't rely on that. before you do the swap make sure you do all and any necessary maintenances (as in doing a full diagnoses on wires, changing hoses, full tune up) ie check if that alternator is working before you drop it in and save yourself some time or replace it fo a new one or fix the one you have :drive:

Alternators are also unlikely to fail so I suggest you buy a voltmeter and check your lines. Check all your grounds. clean them if dirty. check your car battery output, should be between 12.4-12.6 for an average to okay reading.

Last edited by a moderator:

lethal6

Your Mom's Moderator
Staff member
Registered VIP
Registered OG
5+ Year Member
10+ Year Member
Alternators can most definitely fail...what are you trying to feed him?

SpeedTechnik

Nothing but Performance
Registered VIP
Alternators can most definitely fail...what are you trying to feed him?