Complete newbie needs help

jj1only

Bought a 95 civic ex back in march for $500. I wasn't expecting a mint condition Lexus, just needed a ride to take me 12 miles round trip for work daily when the weather was too bad to ride my bicycle and using Uber was getting expensive.

Anyway, bought the car, fixed it up (tire rod was popped out, brakes were shot, and had to get the entire dash rewired because the previous owner installed 3 kill switches) and was riding fine.

Then my car wouldn't start some days. I noticed that it wouldn't start the day after it rains. Mechanic says it's the way the car was built, that the water that his the moon roof drains down to where the computer is.

Fine. But now he says we need to wait till a computer becomes available because this one has been discontinued by honda. Been waiting about 3 months and he says it's like waiting for an organ donor to die. He can't find any anywhere and the two that he tried both had the same water damage to them.

I found one on ebay but don't know if it'll work. Don't wanna give up on the car just yet as I only spent $1500 on everything so far including purchase, title and repairs out of a $2000 budget. And it runs perfectly other than this.

The left side is mine, the right is the one for sale. Should i go for it?

Thanks in advance!

Sent from my SM-N910T using Tapatalk

XpL0d3r

I had a Civic once.
Staff member
Registered VIP
Registered OG
5+ Year Member
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
:welcome:

I don't think that's the issue. That is not how the car is built.. if that were the case, wouldn't every Civic owner have this same issue? Plus, electronics short when they get wet.. that would most likely cause damage to the ECU and prevent it from working properly regardless of if it had time to dry or not... does the ECU look like it has signs of water damage / damp near the connectors?

Your mechanic sounds like he doesn't know the issue... I'd take it elsewhere to get another opinion.