d16z6 rebuild or swap

ej1loverr

hey guys my z6 is burning oil, I assume the piston rings are fried since i see blue smoke everytime i step on the gas.

I was thinking about rebuilding the block and needed suggestions on what parts to get; Even though i have some knowledge on these motors I've actually never taken one of these apart, any suggestions on a good set up (Pistons, rods, piston rings, bearings?) and tips, would be greatly appreciated

or would it be a better idea to just get like a b16/18 or something instead of going through the d16 rebuild process?

thanks

Jersey8

B20: Detroit Muscle!
Registered VIP
Registered OG
5+ Year Member
10+ Year Member
have you considered the possibility that it could also be your valve seals? so it could be the head...

swap in a b-series if you can afford it. its a nice opportunity to get a lower-mileage motor in there with more hp/tq

Mr.Baker

Mr. Search
Registered VIP
5+ Year Member
10+ Year Member
I was thinking about rebuilding the block or would it be a better idea to just get like a b16/18 or something instead of going through the d16 rebuild process?
I think you would be farther ahead cost wise with a rebuild of the D.

You'll get more power with a b series, but:
B swap requires b series motor, b series transmission, wiring mods, and mounts which all cost $, along with any other misc things you may need to replace or whatnot.
Also, just because you swap in another motor, most of the time, you don't REALLY know how many miles are on it and how well it was taken care of.
Then you could be in the same boat again.

Comes down to what YOU can realistically afford to do.

Puma

Has no filter
Registered VIP
Registered OG
5+ Year Member
10+ Year Member
1st off, what have you even done to see WHY the car is blowing smoke? Have you checked anything at all, or are you just reading articles/going off what others say? While researching is fantastic(i applaud you), you won't really know until you open it up.