Decoding Upgrades

CoyoteBlack

Hey folks, These forums have been helpful so far, so I figure I'd ask again.

I'm new to owning my civic, (1997 hatch)

Its had a whole ton of modifications done to it which I want to understand better first. Once I understand that this whole post turns into a "What else can I upgrade from here" type deal haha. I plan on legally drag racing this car, but it will 98% of its life just be a quick street car.

I'm going to throw some photos up of the stuff that has been done to this engine. Can someone explain to a beginner what exactly these modifications mean/ do? I'm mostly unfamiliar with honda engines, obviously I'm aware of how a turbo works. haha

I was planning on putting the ZEX turbo nitrous/ purge kit on this guy, I just feel like i can get more than 300whp (where its currently at) out of it with other upgrades first. If I get to 500whp I'll probably stop there. I'm aware upping the power that much is probably going to call for some drivetrain upgrades. I'm all ears.

Thanks!

Attachments

Esotericimage

Taking an H-T break
Registered VIP
5+ Year Member
Well, theres not alot of modifications that warrant 300whp.

It doesnt list any internal upgrades which leaves me to believe the engine is stock.

If your building towards 300-500 WHP, then you better have a thick wallet.

As it sits, its just a small greddy turbo and your right around the 200whp range.

DO NOT ADD NITROUS AS IT SITS RIGHT NOW

you have alot of learning of honda engines and how turbo's effect power and efficiency.

this is an old read, has alot of good info, but most of the parts listed are outdated and not used anymore.

THis is for information purposes only

G2IC Turbo Guide - A Guide to Turbocharging your Honda / Acura Integra

If you want me to detail what parts you have on the list, then copy and paste the parts on here and Ill go thru it with you. Im not going back and forth between tabs.

CoyoteBlack