1. ClubCivic is now on Instagram! Follow us at clubcivicdotcom. Want your photos features? Tag or DM us, use #clubcivicdotcom, or email us your photos to photos@clubcivic.com

DIY: ASR and ITR Sway Bar Installation 6th Generation Civic

Discussion in 'Wheels / Tires / Brakes / Suspension DIY How-To's' started by georgelb, Nov 19, 2005.



Welcome to ClubCivic a Honda Civic Forum

Club Civic is an online Honda Civic forum and community for all Honda Civic enthusiasts. Whether you own a Honda Civic Si, Ex, Type R, Dx, Lx, Cx, Dx, Vx, or even a hybrid you will find valuable information and honda civic car parts on this site. Take a look around to view Honda Civic discussion; including a photo gallery, maintenance information, tech tips, as well as ways to get better performance from your Honda Civic. Visit the Members Ride's to view and rate other member’s Honda Civics. Click here to start viewing the Honda Civic Forums. Before you start posting on this site you will need to register. If you are already registered and not logged in, please login here.

Browse the forums by generation by clicking below or browse all honda civic forums.


  1. defvayne

    defvayne Set This World On Blaze!! Registered VIP 5+ Year Member 10+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    3,113
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    If you are going with a thicker rear swaybar you need to add some type of reinforcement or it will tear the rear up. I suggest you get the ASR brace and the ES D brackets and bushing.
     
  2. SiRcivic27

    SiRcivic27 New Member Registered VIP 5+ Year Member 10+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2005
    Messages:
    2,734
    Location:
    Wisco
    that wasnt my question, will the sway bars fit without the ASR brace? I have a skunk2 tie bar and I really dont want to go through the trouble of selling it and lossing more money on s**t because I have a hard enough problem as it is trying to sell parts I dont need anymore after I boosted..
     
  3. defvayne

    defvayne Set This World On Blaze!! Registered VIP 5+ Year Member 10+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    3,113
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    yes it will fit if it comes with all the mounting hardware. And yes i believe you can keep the skunk2 tie bar.
     
  4. RHennin

    RHennin New Member Registered VIP 5+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Messages:
    1,116
    Location:
    Clemson, SC
    That sucks man about the skunk2. You could run that with a rear sway although, like everyone else has said on here and on hondatech and everywhere else I've read, you should def. upgrade to the asr or atleast the beaks kit if your gonna get something bigger than a 13mm rear sway. You def. dont wanta have to worry about getting your subframe worked on/welded/ etc... I've had enough issues w/ a lca bolt that sheared off and had to be drilled out.
     
  5. BlackHopeDC5

    BlackHopeDC5 Is Black Again??? :shock: Registered VIP Registered OG 5+ Year Member 10+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Messages:
    8,790
    Location:
    NeW York
    lemme find that pic of what a ripped out subframe looks like
     
  6. defvayne

    defvayne Set This World On Blaze!! Registered VIP 5+ Year Member 10+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    3,113
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    damn i want to see this:shock:
     
  7. defvayne

    defvayne Set This World On Blaze!! Registered VIP 5+ Year Member 10+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    3,113
    Location:
    Houston, TX
  8. SiRcivic27

    SiRcivic27 New Member Registered VIP 5+ Year Member 10+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2005
    Messages:
    2,734
    Location:
    Wisco
    okay, so its sell the skunk2 and go wih the ASR I guess. Yay, another part to sell
     
  9. KLiK

    KLiK New Member 5+ Year Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2007
    Messages:
    49
    Location:
    Zagreb, Croatia, EU
    my question:
    I see (in Honda EPC) that the 5gen has the 13, 14 & 15mm sway bar for the Civics...does that mean i can put the 15mm sway bar for my car without the ASR brace?
     
  10. 97ek4coupe

    97ek4coupe Stock & Slow Registered VIP 5+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2007
    Messages:
    266
    Location:
    Spring, TX
    Great write up, I'm going to be doing this one pretty soon. Just gotta get the money saved up.
     
  11. 99SilverCX

    99SilverCX New Member Registered VIP 5+ Year Member 10+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Messages:
    615
    Location:
    Chicago
  12. Black Magic

    Black Magic I'm Rick James, bitch Registered VIP 5+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,996
    Location:
    Canada
    Nice writeup! I'll definitely be using this in the future. I noticed that you didn't put your tie bar back in. Is that b/c the sway bar replaces it or because the asr brace is solid enough?
     
  13. ImportFan1

    ImportFan1 Super Moderator Staff Member Registered VIP Registered OG 5+ Year Member 10+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2003
    Messages:
    11,188
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    ASR is strong enough. Its only looks if you want to put one back in. Its not going to make any difference either way.
     
  14. Black Magic

    Black Magic I'm Rick James, bitch Registered VIP 5+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,996
    Location:
    Canada
    Cool. Thanks for the info. The reason I asked was because I have a brand new skunk2 tie bar that I purchased got along with my suspension upgrade but I didn't end up installing it. I guess I might sell it as well :D
     
  15. Black Magic

    Black Magic I'm Rick James, bitch Registered VIP 5+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,996
    Location:
    Canada
    Cool. Thanks for the info. The reason I asked was because I have a brand new skunk2 tie bar that I purchased got along with my suspension upgrade but I didn't end up installing it. I guess I might sell it as well :D
     
  16. Black Magic

    Black Magic I'm Rick James, bitch Registered VIP 5+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,996
    Location:
    Canada
    oops... sorry for the double post
     
  17. Hellhatch

    Hellhatch 4 TD's 1 GAME Polk High Registered VIP 5+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Messages:
    284
    Location:
    Dover, North western, New Jersey
    Great how to i just installed my asr brace and swaybar today thread helped out alot.
     
  18. biglou954

    biglou954 Heyyyy Registered VIP 5+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,159
    Location:
    Miami
    yup perfect! thanks bro!
     
  19. iOn

    iOn I like pie. Registered VIP 5+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,231
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, OK
    Question,

    I'm debating on installing an OEM Si sway bar on my '00 Civic VP sedan. I don't need to have a subframe brace, will I? Everything will be plug and play? Need to change out any parts (e.g. LCA, etc.)?
     
  20. Black Magic

    Black Magic I'm Rick James, bitch Registered VIP 5+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,996
    Location:
    Canada
    I think its a good idea to get one. You don't want to risk cracking your stock subframe b/c it aint that strong. How many mm is the sway bar you're installing?
     


Loading...

Share This Page