first time DIY head gasket replacement

6thgenex

5+ Year Member
ill start off that i am new to civic club community, HELLO!
okay, for sometime now my car has been overheating periodically.
found a hairline crack in the radiator, so i switched it out
along with the radiator hoses. work welled temporarily.
NOW, ive had coolant leaking underneath the engine and overheating.
but this time i wasn't able to control it with even the heater on max!
so i started to think it was a bad head gasket,
sure enough i take the spark plug out in piston one and what looks like its been steamed cleaned in there.
ive gone out and purchased a new head gasket set, since i am taking the timing belt off i said what the heck
might as well. so here is what i got:

head gasket set
timing belt
water pump
power steering belt
a/c belt
alternator belt
liquid gasket

i took the head to a machine shop and no cracks but it was warped.
im in the process of putting everything back in reverse order.
the belts are back on and the timing belt is set a TDC.

i just want to make sure im in the green,
everything seems to be running smoothly
any tips or suggestions?
thanks in advance

MidnightCivicEX

EK Ferio WIP
Registered VIP
5+ Year Member
did you get another head or something since your old one was warped??

UCCRacing

No Fun
Registered VIP
5+ Year Member
Good job on doing the new parts, hope you went HONDA OEM since the price is the basically the same at least on t-belt and W-Pump but better quality. Not sure what you had liquid gasket for? No need for any of that....

If it is running good then you should be fine.. Hope you did burp the system?

Sounds like you are good to go though...

sohclubkid

Sick 6/6
Registered VIP
Registered OG
5+ Year Member
10+ Year Member
i sprayed my headgasket wit copper spray from the auto-parts store when i put it on. supposed to help seal it.

UCCRacing

No Fun
Registered VIP
5+ Year Member
Waste of money... The head gasket is designed to seal with out it...

6thgenex