1. New Forum Software:
    We have finally upgraded the forum software due to it being so outdated. If you are having any issues with new forum please let us know. Please post any issues in this thread http://www.clubcivic.com/forum/threads/clubcivic-com-forum-upgrade.227221/

Fuel gauge not working

Discussion in '6th Generation Honda Civic (1996-2000)' started by ne0tas, Oct 20, 2012.



Welcome to ClubCivic a Honda Civic Forum

Club Civic is an online Honda Civic forum and community for all Honda Civic enthusiasts. Whether you own a Honda Civic Si, Ex, Type R, Dx, Lx, Cx, Dx, Vx, or even a hybrid you will find valuable information and honda civic car parts on this site. Take a look around to view Honda Civic discussion; including a photo gallery, maintenance information, tech tips, as well as ways to get better performance from your Honda Civic. Visit the Members Ride's to view and rate other member’s Honda Civics. Click here to start viewing the Honda Civic Forums. Before you start posting on this site you will need to register. If you are already registered and not logged in, please login here.

Browse the forums by generation by clicking below or browse all honda civic forums.


  1. ne0tas

    ne0tas New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2012
    Messages:
    79
    Location:
    Duarte
    Hey guys, got a 99 civic ex 4 door auto and the fuel gauge doesn't work. The previous owners told us it was the fuel sender unit so I bought the part and replaced it at my previous school and it ended up still not working right so I went to a Honda Stealership and got it inspected and they came up with this conclusion..

    THE # 25 FUSE AT HTE UNDERDASH FUSEBOX WAS FOUND TO BE OK..PER SERVICE MANUAL FLOW CHART REMOVED COVER FROM UNDERNEATH REAR SEAT, CHECKED FOR VOLTAGE AT PINS 1 AND 2 AT THE THREE-PIN CONNECTOR, AND THE VOLTAGE WAS FOUND TO BE OK..ALSO ATTACHED A JUMPER WIRE ACROSS PINS 1 AND 2 AND FOUND THE POINTER AT THE FUEL GAGE NOT TO MOVE..PER SERVICE MANUAL THE FUEL GAUGE HAS FAILED..REPAIRS WERE ADVISED.

    They quoted me 250 bucks to replace the cluster which to me is a ripoff..Anyone know how I can fix it myself? My dads mechanic said to just go to the junk yard and rip one out from another Civic and replace it with mine (since he's too lazy to do it himself) should I do that? Or can I try and fix it another way? i don't have the money to spend at the stealership since i'm a fulltime student and all my money goes towards gas getting to/from school. Thanks guys
     
  2. Trekk

    Trekk New Member Registered VIP

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Messages:
    660
    Location:
    Miami
    You can probably find a used cluster on eBay for cheap. They pop apart easy and the 3 gauge clusters inside come out. So you could swap the fuel gauge into your cluster, or move your speed-o to the other to keep the correct miles on the car and or add a tach. Takes 5-10 min to do.
     
  3. ne0tas

    ne0tas New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2012
    Messages:
    79
    Location:
    Duarte
    Well im wondering if theres anythning i can do to fix it without using money, like maybe moving the needle or replacing some wires or something? I dont want to go into the dash blind without knowing what to do and stuff
     
  4. JohnS.

    JohnS. BANGARANG Staff Member Registered VIP Registered OG 5+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Messages:
    19,291
    Location:
    New York
    Like the dealership said, you need a fuel gauge. I don't know how you plan on getting one without spending money though.
     
  5. Trekk

    Trekk New Member Registered VIP

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Messages:
    660
    Location:
    Miami
    They dont use wires on clusters, they use ribbons, and you arent going to fix one of those. So you pretty much have to buy a cluster, or get an after market fuel gauge and tap into the wires leading to the cluster. If you want to be real cheap, top off the tank, and every 150 miles or so, fill it up again.
     
  6. ne0tas

    ne0tas New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2012
    Messages:
    79
    Location:
    Duarte
    Ive been doing that for a year and a half already, it gets kinda old not knowing how much i have. I guess ill look on Ebay and see if i can find something reasonable. I wish i had alldata to see how to remove/replace it safely. Thanks guys
     
  7. Trekk

    Trekk New Member Registered VIP

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Messages:
    660
    Location:
    Miami
    Its not hard the bezel has 2 screws holding it in on the top, then you pull it out and remove the 4 holding the cluster in. Here is a picture anyways

    [​IMG]
     
  8. RealRabbit

    RealRabbit New Member Registered VIP

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2012
    Messages:
    467
    Location:
    Destin FL
    In a year and a half if you saved .50 cents a day you could of had it replaced already. Hit up the junk yard i'm sure you'll find one with a cheap cluster

    Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I727 using Tapatalk 2
     
  9. mymmeryloss

    mymmeryloss RHD is where its at Registered VIP Registered OG 5+ Year Member 10+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2004
    Messages:
    22,300
    Location:
    Odaroloc
    Hit up a junk yard and bargain with them. Should be able to get one for $20 or so if ur good at haggling...
     


Share This Page