1. New Forum Software:
    We have finally upgraded the forum software due to it being so outdated. If you are having any issues with new forum please let us know. Please post any issues in this thread http://www.clubcivic.com/forum/threads/clubcivic-com-forum-upgrade.227221/

gas gauge needle wont work

Discussion in 'Interior / Audio / Electronics' started by civic914, Feb 21, 2011.



Welcome to ClubCivic a Honda Civic Forum

Club Civic is an online Honda Civic forum and community for all Honda Civic enthusiasts. Whether you own a Honda Civic Si, Ex, Type R, Dx, Lx, Cx, Dx, Vx, or even a hybrid you will find valuable information and honda civic car parts on this site. Take a look around to view Honda Civic discussion; including a photo gallery, maintenance information, tech tips, as well as ways to get better performance from your Honda Civic. Visit the Members Ride's to view and rate other member’s Honda Civics. Click here to start viewing the Honda Civic Forums. Before you start posting on this site you will need to register. If you are already registered and not logged in, please login here.

Browse the forums by generation by clicking below or browse all honda civic forums.


  1. civic914

    civic914 New Member 5+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    35
    Location:
    new york
    ok so i have an si cluster in my 97 dx and i just recently put gas and when i went to turn my car on the gas needle didnt move at all:( can anyone help me and tell me what can i do? or what should i fix?
     
  2. Deezy

    Deezy silent partner Registered VIP 5+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    737
    Location:
    Covington.Georgia
    Try this...[​IMG][​IMG]
     
  3. JohnS.

    JohnS. BANGARANG Staff Member Registered VIP Registered OG 5+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Messages:
    19,297
    Location:
    New York
    ^ Yeah that's way too much work for me lol. Don't you have to pull the carpet and rear seats? No thanks lol.

    My gas gauge broke many years ago. I just go by my trip meter now.
     
  4. emerican

    emerican New Member Registered VIP

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Messages:
    7,953
    Location:
    covington GA
    It is a pain never did a honda one, but did the sending unit and the floater in the tank itself in my 5.0 worth it to me just to have everything work. I hate looking at gauges that i know dont work.
     
  5. JohnS.

    JohnS. BANGARANG Staff Member Registered VIP Registered OG 5+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Messages:
    19,297
    Location:
    New York
    Would a bad fuel gauge sending unit cause the fuel gauge to read beyond full and stay there? Not WAY past full but a little past where it would read when the tank is full. Mine comes down and reads the correct fuel level a couple times a year.
     
  6. Deezy

    Deezy silent partner Registered VIP 5+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    737
    Location:
    Covington.Georgia
    ^^ More likely your cluster,.....Do the test, it's not a scary as it looks....:mrgreen:
     
  7. JohnS.

    JohnS. BANGARANG Staff Member Registered VIP Registered OG 5+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Messages:
    19,297
    Location:
    New York
    After helping my friend do my timing belt and such over the weekend, I actually really miss working on my car. I might put this on my list of things to do once the weather gets warmer.

    How do you test the gas gause on the cluster if that's bad?

    (Sorry for the thread jack civic914)
     
  8. Deezy

    Deezy silent partner Registered VIP 5+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    737
    Location:
    Covington.Georgia
    Check out RonJ's post #7 here...Click
     
  9. JohnS.

    JohnS. BANGARANG Staff Member Registered VIP Registered OG 5+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Messages:
    19,297
    Location:
    New York
    Excellent. Thanks! I'll have to add that to the list of things to do when the weather gets warmer.

    Maybe it'll even give me an excuse to switch to a CRV cluster at the time I inspect it and find that the gauge itself is bad ;). That's if I can find a manual one...
     
  10. emerican

    emerican New Member Registered VIP

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Messages:
    7,953
    Location:
    covington GA
    That test cant be near as bad as dropping gas tanks man trust me lol. I have had to do that s**t for friends and to one of my cars not really difficult, but it always ends up being a huge pain in the ass somehow.
     


Share This Page