1. New Forum Software:
    We have finally upgraded the forum software due to it being so outdated. If you are having any issues with new forum please let us know. Please post any issues in this thread http://www.clubcivic.com/forum/threads/clubcivic-com-forum-upgrade.227221/

h22a vtec cut out

Discussion in 'Engine Tech / Drivetrain' started by lilskater519, Mar 4, 2010.



Welcome to ClubCivic a Honda Civic Forum

Club Civic is an online Honda Civic forum and community for all Honda Civic enthusiasts. Whether you own a Honda Civic Si, Ex, Type R, Dx, Lx, Cx, Dx, Vx, or even a hybrid you will find valuable information and honda civic car parts on this site. Take a look around to view Honda Civic discussion; including a photo gallery, maintenance information, tech tips, as well as ways to get better performance from your Honda Civic. Visit the Members Ride's to view and rate other member’s Honda Civics. Click here to start viewing the Honda Civic Forums. Before you start posting on this site you will need to register. If you are already registered and not logged in, please login here.

Browse the forums by generation by clicking below or browse all honda civic forums.


  1. lilskater519

    lilskater519 Bronze!? Registered VIP 5+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2007
    Messages:
    441
    Location:
    michigan
    ok so ive had problems with this for quite some time and thought it was a head gasket but multiple tests proved wrong.
    originally i was loosing much coolant and vtec would randomly cutout everyonce and a while.

    -i found 2 large leaks once the car was in the air and fixed them(one in a random connector made from the swap and one at the heater core).
    -next i did a compression test on each cyl. and it passed with flying colors.
    -from there i did a vaccum test and also passed that with great outcomes..

    soo..
    does anyone have any idea what could make vtec not work at times or feel weaker?
     
  2. Jabes

    Jabes New Member 5+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    85
    Location:
    Phoenixville Pennsylvania
    hows your oil pressure and oil levels cause if there low that could be the problem
     
  3. lilskater519

    lilskater519 Bronze!? Registered VIP 5+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2007
    Messages:
    441
    Location:
    michigan
    idk how id check my oil pressure but everything seems in check.
    got a little leak from that sensor in the back by oil filter.
    she does need an oil change but i dont think that would effect things so much
    would the weight of oil effect at al?
    as of now theres 40wt in it.
     
  4. lilskater519

    lilskater519 Bronze!? Registered VIP 5+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2007
    Messages:
    441
    Location:
    michigan
    c'mon guys help me out here!
     
  5. PhntmSk8r

    PhntmSk8r H23VTEC Registered VIP 5+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2006
    Messages:
    3,263
    Location:
    Colorado
    Fix your oil leaks.
    Run 10w30, 40 is kind of thick (but not horrible). Thick oil will cheat you into a higher pressure, but isn't necessary on a well/properly built motor.

    Engine codes?
    Is the screen in your vtec solenoid clean?
    Have you tried replacing the vtec solenoid?
    Are the wires making good connection at the vtec solenoid?
     
  6. lilskater519

    lilskater519 Bronze!? Registered VIP 5+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2007
    Messages:
    441
    Location:
    michigan
    ok sweet.
    also with this new header the down tube is really close to my oil pan will that heat my oil to the point i should run thicker??
    the engines only got 40k so w30 will be fine.

    no cel's.
    ive checked the screen once but ill look again.
    and ill look into the solenoid and wires.
    thanks!
     


Share This Page