'97 Civic, Type-R engine: An American in Calgary

snackwell

Respected
5+ Year Member
Hello from an American in Calgary. I have a 1997 Honda Civic EX 4-door that I just switched out the engine 2013 December for a b18c 1998 Type R. I am new to modding the car beyond stock so I will try to use the Google and the search before asking any questions. Within 6 months, the JDM engine had to have a valve replaced which I just got the car back.

My goals for my car in no particular order necessarily (and just at the time of this post):

• Redo the clear coat, other minor scratch repair
  • Upgrade the interior including seats
  • Fix the heater assembly (when the old engine failed by overheating, I broke the switch cable connection which before, just putting the cable back on worked) since taking out the dash and try to repair it myself, I broke a piece of plastic which limits the cable assembly that turns the vent (so right now, it's stuck in the middle). See, I am new at this.
  • Replace antenna (it's already been pulled out)
  • Replace instrument panel (I was told a Civic 99 siR would still fit this chassis and work with this engine?).

Last edited by a moderator:

Wreckless Hype

¯\_(ツ)_/¯
Registered VIP
5+ Year Member
Welcome! Sounds like a decent ride.

Post pictures, we're whores for pictures...

Heater assembly is going to be a pain in the ass, but feasible if you have patience. Antenna is easy enough. Instrument panel, do you mean gauge cluster? You have tons of options there.

joe7987

Staff member
Registered VIP
Registered OG
5+ Year Member
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
It's true. We do really like pictures. Post em up! Welcome to CC!

snackwell

Respected
5+ Year Member
Hello:

Sorry to take so long to reply. I do have pictures and a couple of videos (I have other videos of the car and engine but I have to find which drive they are on).