1. New Forum Software:
    We have finally upgraded the forum software due to it being so outdated. If you are having any issues with new forum please let us know. Please post any issues in this thread http://www.clubcivic.com/forum/threads/clubcivic-com-forum-upgrade.227221/

Hood Release Cable

Discussion in 'Tech Archive (No Posting)' started by SoJ1Ro, Apr 10, 2009.



Welcome to ClubCivic a Honda Civic Forum

Club Civic is an online Honda Civic forum and community for all Honda Civic enthusiasts. Whether you own a Honda Civic Si, Ex, Type R, Dx, Lx, Cx, Dx, Vx, or even a hybrid you will find valuable information and honda civic car parts on this site. Take a look around to view Honda Civic discussion; including a photo gallery, maintenance information, tech tips, as well as ways to get better performance from your Honda Civic. Visit the Members Ride's to view and rate other member’s Honda Civics. Click here to start viewing the Honda Civic Forums. Before you start posting on this site you will need to register. If you are already registered and not logged in, please login here.

Browse the forums by generation by clicking below or browse all honda civic forums.


  1. SoJ1Ro

    SoJ1Ro just sit back and enjoy Registered VIP 5+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    Messages:
    525
    Location:
    New York
    Sup guys, so i recently just bought a new hood release cable kuz mine broke like most hondas. i was wondering if there is a thread about how to install it. i've done my homewok and found other websites that explained how to install it, but not for a honda. Im pretty sure its the same. I just want to know if you guys ever installed one before and how hard is it? whats your experience with this?
     
  2. toxicity359

    toxicity359 New Member 5+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Messages:
    93
    Location:
    fallston
    im doing this on my car soon, when i figure out ill send you a holler.
     
  3. SoJ1Ro

    SoJ1Ro just sit back and enjoy Registered VIP 5+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    Messages:
    525
    Location:
    New York
    sweet yeah tell me how it goes. i already know where its goin in and all but if you could take pics. that be awesome. thanks
     
  4. mitka

    mitka New Member 5+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Messages:
    121
    Location:
    Aurora, IL
    It is easiest to replace if you took your fender off. In fact it is self evident how to do it then. You will need to get two plastic retainers under fender to hold it (I never was able to remove existing ones w/o damaging them). The rest of plastic retainers (on the bulkhead) can be taken off easily w/o damage.

    w/o taking fender off:

    you need to pull out old cord (you basically unscrew the release lever, cut the cord from inside, pull out rubber grommet that plugs hole in the firewall, and pull the cord out from the outside). Then thread in new cord from inside the car, when you need to catch it from the hole in front which is tricky thing to do. This way of course you bypass the retainers under hood, which is not important - it will work w/o them.

    You need to take hood latch out in order to attach the cord to the latch properly. Take marker and mark the contour of the latch on the bulkhead, so you know how to position it in the same place when you reattach it.
     
  5. SoJ1Ro

    SoJ1Ro just sit back and enjoy Registered VIP 5+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    Messages:
    525
    Location:
    New York
    is there any size bolts i should have to be ready for this? and thanks for the info
     
  6. jerzfinest13

    jerzfinest13 New Member 5+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    112
    Location:
    Orlando
    Would it be difficult to put in the hood latch b/c I need to install 1 since the previous owner broke the stock and added some random Hood latch. Any help? Or would I have to replace the whole thing (latch & cables)
     
  7. deemee

    deemee I am the Master... Registered VIP 5+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Messages:
    395
    Location:
    New York
  8. mitka

    mitka New Member 5+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Messages:
    121
    Location:
    Aurora, IL
    No need to replace the cable if cable is not damaged and works. you take off grille to get access to two bolts that hold latch.
     
  9. sixwhip14

    sixwhip14 New Member 5+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    Messages:
    126
    Location:
    sioux city, ia
    Mine is broke as well, but I don't mind. It would take that much longer for some scumbag to get at my engine.
     
  10. jerzfinest13

    jerzfinest13 New Member 5+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    112
    Location:
    Orlando
    Ohhh ok, it still opens its just that damn latch is a cheap ass 1 and sucks when I have to open my hood.
     
  11. thambi23

    thambi23 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Messages:
    150
    Location:
    Boston,MA
    on my 2000 civic the same thing happened the plastic part broke off can i just buy the plastic part or need to replace the cables and everythin else..
     
  12. red98civ

    red98civ New Member Registered VIP 5+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Messages:
    557
    Location:
    philly 'burbs
    holy thread resurrection...!

    if you're talking about the little handle you pull to open the latch, i believe you have to replace the whole cable. I recently did a cable-relocate but left the little handle off, it'll make it just a tad bit harder for a thief ;)
     
  13. DaggWood

    DaggWood New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
  14. CIVIC_VTEC

    CIVIC_VTEC LOW AND SLOW! Registered VIP 5+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    349
    Location:
    Indiana
    s**t idk i took my hood release off and put in hood pins
     
  15. tomrip1

    tomrip1 New Member 5+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Location:
    putnam valley,New York
    great info....BUT my hood is closed, cable broken, how can I release the hood now??
     
  16. Ej8civic96

    Ej8civic96 New Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Location:
    Wheaton
    that had happen to me i had to opening it by removing the grill and using a wrench and a 10 mm socket i think thats the right size .... after i removed the grill i took out the Hood Latch has like 3 or 4 bolts then it should easly slide out you might need to move it around or ill try to take sum pics tommrow on how to open it with a flat head long screw driver hope it helps a lil =)
     


Share This Page