Status
Not open for further replies.

oc_civic

Registered VIP
Registered OG
5+ Year Member
10+ Year Member
Changing pcv valve and cleaning a k&n filter

ok so today was car maintaince day for me, i was changin the oil and all that good stuff, and i decided to bring the digi along for part of it. *authors note* im not a mechanic, im just a goofy kid with some free time. i take no responsibility if you mess up your car by following my instructions. this worked for me, on my car, a 95 civic ex with the d16z6. your car/ motor combo may be different.

Replacing the PCV (positive crankcase ventilation) valve: the reccomended interval is about every 3 oil changes or so, and its cheap (about 3 bucks) so just do it. i havent done mine in awhile, so i decided to do it now. its important to do, as if it gets stuck open you can h ave problems like low idle and poor gas mileage (it basically acts like a vaccume leak) . if it gets stuck closed (like if a piece of stuff gets caught in it) theoretically the pressure could build up enough to blow up the crankcase. more likely, it would burst a vaccume hose, making a big pain in the ass. oh well here goes...

the brown piece there between the intake runners is the pcv valve. i believe this is pretty similar in most honda motors, but i could be wrong, i dont study engines pcv's. pull it out, it slides right out of the hose its in.

pull the pcv and hose out of the intake manifold, and rest it on the fuel rail. pulling it out isnt necessary, but it makes it a hell of a lot easier to work on.

depending on how long its been since you last changed the pcv, it may be mildly difficult to almost impossible to pull it out of the hose by hand. make sure to remove the metal pinch clamp first (may need a pair of pliers, i did) i needed to slide a screwdriver under the hose to get it out. *warning* dont cut the hose with the screwdriver if you need to resort to this, otherwise you need to replace the hose.

whew, got that sucker outta there