1. New Forum Software:
    We have finally upgraded the forum software due to it being so outdated. If you are having any issues with new forum please let us know. Please post any issues in this thread http://www.clubcivic.com/forum/threads/clubcivic-com-forum-upgrade.227221/

How to Check Codes in 88-91 Civic/CRX

Discussion in 'Tech Archive (No Posting)' started by Steven., Mar 21, 2007.



Welcome to ClubCivic a Honda Civic Forum

Club Civic is an online Honda Civic forum and community for all Honda Civic enthusiasts. Whether you own a Honda Civic Si, Ex, Type R, Dx, Lx, Cx, Dx, Vx, or even a hybrid you will find valuable information and honda civic car parts on this site. Take a look around to view Honda Civic discussion; including a photo gallery, maintenance information, tech tips, as well as ways to get better performance from your Honda Civic. Visit the Members Ride's to view and rate other member’s Honda Civics. Click here to start viewing the Honda Civic Forums. Before you start posting on this site you will need to register. If you are already registered and not logged in, please login here.

Browse the forums by generation by clicking below or browse all honda civic forums.


  1. Steven.

    Steven. Formally Green 91 Registered VIP Registered OG 5+ Year Member 10+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Messages:
    16,666
    Location:
    Ellicott city md
    mainly making this thread to add the link to the Important links sticky.
    found Here

    How To check Check engine light/Trouble Codes in 88-91 OBD0 Civic/CRX's
    [​IMG]
    If you have Questions/Comments/Suggestions on topics to go in the Sticky, please PM me.
     
    Last edited: Mar 28, 2007
  2. 90 ls vtec hb

    90 ls vtec hb New Member 5+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2007
    Messages:
    183
    Location:
    monmouth
    i guess i dont understand it.Nevermind i got it now
     
  3. kyle10182

    kyle10182 NA is Best Registered VIP Registered OG 5+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Messages:
    6,572
    Location:
    East Coast
    what if u convert to obd1???

    i've had a 90 hatchback converted to obd-1. and i cant for the life of me remember how i checked my CELs?
     
  4. Steven.

    Steven. Formally Green 91 Registered VIP Registered OG 5+ Year Member 10+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Messages:
    16,666
    Location:
    Ellicott city md
    you check
    codes with 2 wires in the harness pigtail
     
  5. kyle10182

    kyle10182 NA is Best Registered VIP Registered OG 5+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Messages:
    6,572
    Location:
    East Coast
    the boomslang harness doesn't come with this 'pigtail.'
     
  6. Steven.

    Steven. Formally Green 91 Registered VIP Registered OG 5+ Year Member 10+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Messages:
    16,666
    Location:
    Ellicott city md
    my ebay one did, the rywire does also. lol
    ill see what i can find
     
  7. kyle10182

    kyle10182 NA is Best Registered VIP Registered OG 5+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Messages:
    6,572
    Location:
    East Coast
    is there a timing jumper on the 88-91 civics like there is on 92+? maybe thats what i did. i went a week where i was checking the lights like 7 times a day cuz i was paranoid i was getting new lights (besides o2) and for some reason i cant think of how i did it. my buddy is using a similar boomslang obd0-obd1 harness on his integra. thats what got me thinkin about it...
     
  8. Steven.

    Steven. Formally Green 91 Registered VIP Registered OG 5+ Year Member 10+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Messages:
    16,666
    Location:
    Ellicott city md
    yeah, but every time i jumped it to check timing, it didnt change s**t lol.

    90-91 if below the glove box, its a little blue connector.
    88-89 its on the pass side strut tower in the engine bay
     
  9. kyle10182

    kyle10182 NA is Best Registered VIP Registered OG 5+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Messages:
    6,572
    Location:
    East Coast
    yea, thats what did it. then the CEL on the cluster would blink the codes for me.
     
  10. ryan89crx

    ryan89crx Spoolin single cam! Registered VIP 5+ Year Member 10+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2004
    Messages:
    2,210
    Location:
    Tri-Cities, Washington
    if you convert your CRX to obd1, there is a yellow wire on the conversion harness that you just ground out. the light in the cluster will start to blink
     
  11. kyle10182

    kyle10182 NA is Best Registered VIP Registered OG 5+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Messages:
    6,572
    Location:
    East Coast
    what conversion harness are you talkin about? they arent all the exact same. for instance, the boomslang uses all green wires and there is no jumper included in the harness.
     
  12. Steven.

    Steven. Formally Green 91 Registered VIP Registered OG 5+ Year Member 10+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Messages:
    16,666
    Location:
    Ellicott city md
    id email boomslang, and find out how, then post here so everyone knows

    edit
    with teh boomslang one, its checked by jumpign your factory timing adjustment connector.
    pics of those locations in a min
     
    Last edited: May 11, 2007
  13. ryan89crx

    ryan89crx Spoolin single cam! Registered VIP 5+ Year Member 10+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2004
    Messages:
    2,210
    Location:
    Tri-Cities, Washington
    which one does yours look like?
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    see the yellow wire in the harness? that one
     
  14. kyle10182

    kyle10182 NA is Best Registered VIP Registered OG 5+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Messages:
    6,572
    Location:
    East Coast
    i had the DPFI one. and i checked by jumping the timing connector? but you say i can just ground the yellow wire, huh? i'll have to try that on my buddy's DA.

    the yellow wire is for the o2 sesnor. since his o2 is disabled, we'll just switch it to ground so he can check them by flicking a hidden switch. as long as this way works.

    but like i said, if i remember correctly, i think i was just jumping the timing jumper to do this...

    EDIT: annnnnnd i just got off the phone with them and they said "the only way to do it is to jump the timing jumper just like on an obd-1 car"

    i'll try this yellow wire idea. whats the worst that can happen, blown fuse?
     
  15. Steven.

    Steven. Formally Green 91 Registered VIP Registered OG 5+ Year Member 10+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Messages:
    16,666
    Location:
    Ellicott city md
    liek i said before
     
  16. ryan89crx

    ryan89crx Spoolin single cam! Registered VIP 5+ Year Member 10+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2004
    Messages:
    2,210
    Location:
    Tri-Cities, Washington
    if they say the only way is the timing jumper, do it that way. dont f**k with the yellow wire

    on mine(Rywire) the yellow is the service connector
     
  17. Steven.

    Steven. Formally Green 91 Registered VIP Registered OG 5+ Year Member 10+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Messages:
    16,666
    Location:
    Ellicott city md
    the yellow wire on my ebay one is also.
     
  18. EFOptmst

    EFOptmst New Member 5+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    87
    Location:
    Canton, OH
    Can anyone help me out, I just replaced the rings in my car and afterwards, now it reads a code 6, which is coolant temp but my temp is fine?
     
  19. Steven.

    Steven. Formally Green 91 Registered VIP Registered OG 5+ Year Member 10+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Messages:
    16,666
    Location:
    Ellicott city md
    make sure the conector is connected
     
  20. EFOptmst

    EFOptmst New Member 5+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    87
    Location:
    Canton, OH
    Ill double check
     


Share This Page