1. New Forum Software:
    We have finally upgraded the forum software due to it being so outdated. If you are having any issues with new forum please let us know. Please post any issues in this thread http://www.clubcivic.com/forum/threads/clubcivic-com-forum-upgrade.227221/

How To: Resetting your ECU.

Discussion in 'Engine Tech / Drivetrain DIY How-To's' started by joe7987, Jun 5, 2005.



Welcome to ClubCivic a Honda Civic Forum

Club Civic is an online Honda Civic forum and community for all Honda Civic enthusiasts. Whether you own a Honda Civic Si, Ex, Type R, Dx, Lx, Cx, Dx, Vx, or even a hybrid you will find valuable information and honda civic car parts on this site. Take a look around to view Honda Civic discussion; including a photo gallery, maintenance information, tech tips, as well as ways to get better performance from your Honda Civic. Visit the Members Ride's to view and rate other member’s Honda Civics. Click here to start viewing the Honda Civic Forums. Before you start posting on this site you will need to register. If you are already registered and not logged in, please login here.

Browse the forums by generation by clicking below or browse all honda civic forums.


  1. joe7987

    joe7987 Administrator Staff Member Registered VIP Registered OG 5+ Year Member 10+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    14,240
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    Resetting your ECU

    After engine mods, you want to reset your ECU to take advantage of the new mods.

    Start the car and let it warm up
    Turn the car off
    Pull the ECU fuse under the hood -or- disconnect the battery
    Let it sit for at least 5 minutes
    Reconnect the ECU fuse under the hood -or- Reconnect the battery
    Start the car again and let it idle for 5 minutes (don't be pressing the gas or listening to the stereo or anything)
    Turn the car off
    Start it back up and have fun driving.
    Or you can leave the ECU alone and it will slowly adjust over 6 months or so
     
  2. sr90civic

    sr90civic New Member 5+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2005
    Messages:
    68
    Location:
    Prince George B.C
    what excactly does the ecU stand for and do
     
  3. 98_4doorsleeper

    98_4doorsleeper All Motor! 5+ Year Member 10+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Messages:
    139
    Location:
    SoCal
    ECU stands for ENGINE CONTROL UNIT!
     
  4. ikillradio

    ikillradio New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2004
    Messages:
    1,643
    Location:
    So Cali
    and it regulates your fuel management and air intake and everything its your comp for your whole car
     
  5. cam043

    cam043 cam043 5+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2005
    Messages:
    2
    Location:
    slidell, LA/ruston,LA (LATECH)
    does anybody have a pic of the ecu fuse under the hood or just tell me where it's at for a 97 civic dx.......thanks. and does doing so help at all?
     
  6. JDMth3oryTC3

    JDMth3oryTC3 New Member 5+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Location:
    Salinas, CA
    ^^just pull your battery. quicker, except you have reset all your damn radio stations, bugs the crap outta me.
     
  7. Genuine Rolla

    Genuine Rolla Its PETEY PETE, y0! Registered VIP Registered OG 5+ Year Member 10+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2004
    Messages:
    19,199
    Location:
    Connecticut
    its real simple...its all marked on the cover of the in engine fuse box.
     
  8. Silver Bullet

    Silver Bullet 6 spd = titis Registered VIP 5+ Year Member 10+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2002
    Messages:
    3,630
    Location:
    Allentown Pa
    :word:
     
  9. hondaboi95

    hondaboi95 New Member 5+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Location:
    anchorage
    ok.... when i replaced my gasket on my intake manifold and put it back on it started to idle.... if i reset it will it work??
     
  10. Matt.

    Matt. Banned Registered VIP Registered OG 5+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2005
    Messages:
    9,066
    Location:
    Pa
    just pull the damn ecu in a 5th or 6th gen... hell thats what I do to reset it, lol.
     
  11. 94EG_

    94EG_ Boats N' Hoes !! 5+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Messages:
    25
    Location:
    Jacksonville, Florida
    I have a Alpine Stereo system with a Alpine Capacitor, everytime I try to re-set my ECU by pulling negative terminal and letting ECU drain, it wont becuase my capacitor keeps sending power back to the ECU. I've got a 94' Ex where is the ECU Fuse ??
     
  12. eskateboarding7

    eskateboarding7 New Member Registered VIP 5+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Messages:
    2,273
    Location:
    Peachtree City, GA
    Just disconnect the cap.
     
  13. SnowCivic

    SnowCivic New Member 5+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Location:
    Virginia Beach
    Ok so recently I had a problem with a CEL that was most likely me not tightening my gas cap, so I reset the ECU. Before I did this, my car topped 120 with no problem. After I reset the ECU, my car tops at 100 at 4500 rpm. I drive a 2000 Civic Ex. Nothing special about it because from what I know everything is still stock (I bought it used so I'm not sure what's in it) Any help would be awesome.
     
  14. Mad-Mike

    Mad-Mike New Member 5+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    157
    Location:
    Pittsburgh,PA
    Stupid question but what happens if the ecu is chipped? Will it reset the ecu to factory settings?
     
  15. RonJ

    RonJ Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,101
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Minor correction. It's actually Electronic Control Unit.
     
  16. Black96EXNC

    Black96EXNC SOHC EJ8

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    152
    Location:
    Charlotte N.C
    If running a built D16y8 is there any benefit to running a p72obd2 vs a stock EX ECU? I was told it would help because the p72 was programed for a higher powered engine? I have switched them a few times. Can't really tell a difference.
     
  17. jeremyB16a

    jeremyB16a New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Messages:
    16
    Location:
    franklinton la
    !!!!!!cean ass civic!!!!!!!

    Check out my civic!!!!!!


    photobucket.com/civicex
     
  18. 2000HondaCivic

    2000HondaCivic New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Location:
    MD
    o wow thats super easy
     
  19. shaynayosef22

    shaynayosef22 BlackOut Civic

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Location:
    manila
    same here...same troublesome reset and it kills me...
     
  20. mrprofits1

    mrprofits1 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Location:
    Los Angeles , CA
    awesom i was letting it idle for 15+ mins just wasting gas.
     


Share This Page