1. New Forum Software:
    We have finally upgraded the forum software due to it being so outdated. If you are having any issues with new forum please let us know. Please post any issues in this thread http://www.clubcivic.com/forum/threads/clubcivic-com-forum-upgrade.227221/

Knock Sensor torque specs

Discussion in '6th Generation Honda Civic (1996-2000)' started by FlatRate, Aug 4, 2012.



Welcome to ClubCivic a Honda Civic Forum

Club Civic is an online Honda Civic forum and community for all Honda Civic enthusiasts. Whether you own a Honda Civic Si, Ex, Type R, Dx, Lx, Cx, Dx, Vx, or even a hybrid you will find valuable information and honda civic car parts on this site. Take a look around to view Honda Civic discussion; including a photo gallery, maintenance information, tech tips, as well as ways to get better performance from your Honda Civic. Visit the Members Ride's to view and rate other member’s Honda Civics. Click here to start viewing the Honda Civic Forums. Before you start posting on this site you will need to register. If you are already registered and not logged in, please login here.

Browse the forums by generation by clicking below or browse all honda civic forums.


  1. FlatRate

    FlatRate New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Location:
    CA
    I'm doing a engine replacement on my civic and accidentally broke the knock sensor when I took off the IM. I got a new replacement but I need to know the toque specs on it. Don't want to go too tight or too loose, may cause improper readings.

    I checked the electronic shop repair manual but everything I see on the engine block only shows pictures of the oil pressure switch and its torque specs, Other pages show the location of the knock sensor, but no specs on it. The actual page dedicated to knock sensor only tells me about code for the knock sensor and how to diagnose it, nothing regarding torque specs.

    Anyone know exactly what the specs are or where the information is. For now I cross reference with my old GSR shop manual and I found specs on it there for 23ft-lbs.
     
  2. Trekk

    Trekk New Member Registered VIP

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Messages:
    660
    Location:
    Miami
    Till my electric impact goes clack clack clack? I've worked in a dealer sometime now and never seen any tq one. If the bolt breaks, that was too tight =)
     
  3. FlatRate

    FlatRate New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Location:
    CA
    If it were a large bolt like say a subframe or caliper bracket, then yes I do the same. But for a knock sensor? What about a spark plug, grease fitting, or a head bolt? Other things I would care less, but sensitive items I tend to torque down to specs.

    Its easy to just shoot it with an impact, but some things needs specs. I work in a shop environment too for over 7+ years. Stripping nuts and bolts as well as breaking them is not fun.
     
  4. Trekk

    Trekk New Member Registered VIP

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Messages:
    660
    Location:
    Miami
    Hey just telling you my .02 I forgot these have the screw in type, not the ones with a bolt in the center. Put loctite on it and screw it in. It's not really a sensitive item (as far as clearance goes), it just reads vibrations in the block, if it's too loose (ratting) it might get false readings. Besides that you could fuse it to the block and it would work just fine.

    Yes I TQ rods, cam's, cap's Moving parts that need clearances, other then that, I do everything by hand or with a gun.
     


Share This Page