limp mode???

guwakjai010

Dr Tai tai
Registered VIP
5+ Year Member
10+ Year Member
just bought a civic wit d16z6 and before the car wouldn't start but after changing the dizzy, it was fixed... it ran strong as hell... but now... two days later after fixing the clutch pedal (cuz it was not engaging and disengaging fully, it owuldn't go in gear properly) so i filled the clutch resovouir then two days later took it out for a spin and can't get over 3500 rpm....got no cel and pretty sure the light works cuz it turns on when i go to start the car...
it was raining sleet and since the hood has a scoop, ice was on the valve cover and spark plug wires... also put in a short ram today too...and thats it... any ideas?

Kingjames83

Registered VIP
5+ Year Member
I'm not a pro but I think you might have got water in everything... I would start with a tune-up and go from there.

--<EM1>--

boosted ftw
Registered VIP
5+ Year Member
10+ Year Member
wierd. its something with the ecu. i have a chipped p28 for my turbo setup and i can't get over 3500 rpms either. i thought the bov or wg was dumping but its not. 3500 rpms the motor studders like hitting the rev limiter

jason_guy_yeah

Registered VIP
5+ Year Member
10+ Year Member
If it won't go over 3500 rpms, it means that the ecu is using the backup proccessor on limited map settings. In other words, the ecu is fried (broken some how).

jason_guy_yeah

Registered VIP
5+ Year Member
10+ Year Member
You could give a try, it could just be a bad eprom or some loose tracks on the board.

guwakjai010

Dr Tai tai
Registered VIP
5+ Year Member
10+ Year Member
the car now dies whenever i let go of the throttle... i cleaned the IACV but didn't do much for me.... i seafoamed it... didin't fix anything.... i need help!!!!! its still stuck in limp mode and now it dies cuz the rpm just drops to 0

jason_guy_yeah

Registered VIP
5+ Year Member
10+ Year Member