Modding Em2!

broomes28

Hey, I'm a 21 yr college student, just got my 02 civic and i wanna do some mods on it. Im looking to spend around $1k in mods this 1st year. Staying within that budget, i don't know if i should get lowering springs or coil overs. I want to lower 2.5 in the front and 2 in the back still enjoying a sturdy ride, no winter driving too. I also want to add a cold air intake, add some power and also want to make the exhaust a lil deeper. What would you guys suggest/recommend doing or getting, product wise.​

lethal6

Your Mom's Moderator
Staff member
Registered VIP
Registered OG
5+ Year Member
10+ Year Member
To start out, if you have a d-series in that '02 there isn't much you are going to do to bring out some power without boosting it or swapping in a bigger motor. All exhaust and an intake is going to do is change the sound. Not going to get any real power out of bolt ons. They were built for gas mileage not speed.

Lowering? Definitely coil overs. I have always been a lowering spring guy until I put some coil overs on and won't look back. Only thing that would change my mind now would be bags for the automatic on the fly adjustability they provide.

Recommendations: Don't buy cheap stuff just to stay in your budget. If it is more than you are able to do right now, save up. There are things you can cut costs on but buying cheap to be cheap is no good. Do it right and do it once. I wish I would have had someone tell me that when I was starting out. Would have saved a lot of money that I didn't need to spend twice to end up getting it right.

broomes28

To start out, if you have a d-series in that '02 there isn't much you are going to do to bring out some power without boosting it or swapping in a bigger motor. All exhaust and an intake is going to do is change the sound. Not going to get any real power out of bolt ons. They were built for gas mileage not speed.