1. New Forum Software:
    We have finally upgraded the forum software due to it being so outdated. If you are having any issues with new forum please let us know. Please post any issues in this thread http://www.clubcivic.com/forum/threads/clubcivic-com-forum-upgrade.227221/

Question about charging AC

Discussion in 'Engine Tech / Drivetrain' started by andrew256, Aug 4, 2008.



Welcome to ClubCivic a Honda Civic Forum

Club Civic is an online Honda Civic forum and community for all Honda Civic enthusiasts. Whether you own a Honda Civic Si, Ex, Type R, Dx, Lx, Cx, Dx, Vx, or even a hybrid you will find valuable information and honda civic car parts on this site. Take a look around to view Honda Civic discussion; including a photo gallery, maintenance information, tech tips, as well as ways to get better performance from your Honda Civic. Visit the Members Ride's to view and rate other member’s Honda Civics. Click here to start viewing the Honda Civic Forums. Before you start posting on this site you will need to register. If you are already registered and not logged in, please login here.

Browse the forums by generation by clicking below or browse all honda civic forums.


  1. andrew256

    andrew256 New Member Registered VIP 5+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    802
    Location:
    Northeast GA
    I did a swap and now I'm in the process of getting my AC going again ans I need to know if I should go to Advanced Auto and get the "charging kit" for $38.95 or take it to a shop and have it "evacuated" and re-charged for $150.
     
  2. steve98ex

    steve98ex say no to rotas Registered VIP 5+ Year Member 10+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2003
    Messages:
    3,005
    Location:
    Redding, CA
    I tried recharging mine with the cans. They don't work, it said it was full but when I finally took it to the show it was nowhere near where it should be. They'll also check to see if your system is leaking so you won't be wasting money refilling it if its gonna leak out
     
  3. jpelizzari

    jpelizzari New Member 5+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Messages:
    81
    Location:
    VA
    You need to have it vacuumed. If not, and you use the can, it will not fill properly. Best bet would be to take it to a shop and have it done right. The can is just for a recharge on a system that hasn't been broken open.
     
  4. knightxrider1

    knightxrider1 New Member Registered VIP 5+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3,148
    Location:
    Sunshine State
    i put a can in mine. it cooled it up noticeably better. but if you want it done right. i guess pay the shop.
     
  5. DaMechanicEG/EK

    DaMechanicEG/EK New Member 5+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2008
    Messages:
    23
    Location:
    South Florida
    GO TO A SHOP!!! a/c is not a guessing games!!! u have to knw how much pressure u have on ur high side. n how much u have on ur low side. u could blow ur compress or u expantion valve. dats under da dash. behind all da a/c boxes. pain in da ass to fuk with. n cost u alot of $$$ to get it fixed if u ake it to a shop. Cans suk!!!!!!!!!!
     


Share This Page