Radiator Fan not Starting

kiasta

I recently had an issue with overheating and it was due to the radiator needing to be replaced. I replaced both the radiator and the thermostat, flushed the coolant and all that. I'm not entirely sure if the fan started before I replaced the radiator, since I didn't check.

The fan works, I hooked it up directly to the battery and it started just fine. I tested the relay switch with a multi-meter and I was getting power. I was, however, not getting power to the plug that goes into the radiator. I wasn't getting anything. What would be the problem? The wiring? I don't know how because the wire that connects to the fan is also connected to the headlights (from what I can see?), which both are working.

I'm not a mechanic, so I am stuck at this point. I could just take it to a mechanic and have them do it, but I would much rather learn on my own. I'm still waiting on the Honda service manuals so I'm not really sure what else to test from here. Any ideas of what could be the problem?

Last edited:

DavidR

5+ Year Member
Maybe a problem with the fan switch, its located on the thermostat housing, it should have continuity once the coolant temp is around 200*. Check with your ohm meter. Hope this helps.

kiasta

Maybe a problem with the fan switch, its located on the thermostat housing, it should have continuity once the coolant temp is around 200*. Check with your ohm meter. Hope this helps.