1. New Forum Software:
    We have finally upgraded the forum software due to it being so outdated. If you are having any issues with new forum please let us know. Please post any issues in this thread http://www.clubcivic.com/forum/threads/clubcivic-com-forum-upgrade.227221/

reverse light, help please!!!

Discussion in 'Tech Archive (No Posting)' started by gotcivic, Sep 5, 2006.



Welcome to ClubCivic a Honda Civic Forum

Club Civic is an online Honda Civic forum and community for all Honda Civic enthusiasts. Whether you own a Honda Civic Si, Ex, Type R, Dx, Lx, Cx, Dx, Vx, or even a hybrid you will find valuable information and honda civic car parts on this site. Take a look around to view Honda Civic discussion; including a photo gallery, maintenance information, tech tips, as well as ways to get better performance from your Honda Civic. Visit the Members Ride's to view and rate other member’s Honda Civics. Click here to start viewing the Honda Civic Forums. Before you start posting on this site you will need to register. If you are already registered and not logged in, please login here.

Browse the forums by generation by clicking below or browse all honda civic forums.


  1. gotcivic

    gotcivic New Member 5+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    Messages:
    96
    Location:
    on the other side
    when i bought my car, it came with a little problem in the reverse light, they didnt go off, even if u didnt have the car in reverse they still on!!! so i check the taillights, and well i got new taillights so i dont think is a taillight problem, so the i check the cables and they still the oem ones, so now i dont know what else can it be?? does anyone know the reason for these?? any ground problem or something?? i was told that it might be the reverse switch, the switch which turn on the reverse light, but i dont know!!! please i need some help!!!!!
     
  2. chestercivic

    chestercivic **Former** ED3, DA9 owner Registered VIP 5+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2005
    Messages:
    600
    Location:
    Arizona
    Well it could be. Is it a manual? The reverse light is on top of the tranny and pretty easy to change. Not too expensive either. That is where I would start.
     
  3. gotcivic

    gotcivic New Member 5+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    Messages:
    96
    Location:
    on the other side
    yeah it is manual, where on top of the tranny??? i see 2 plug, i guess the one rounded with the cables right??
     
  4. HP Civic 2

    HP Civic 2 New Member Registered VIP 5+ Year Member 10+ Year Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2004
    Messages:
    765
    Location:
    -
    x2 after I did my swap I had teh same problem. Just unhooked the plug on the transmission and plugged it back in and fixed.
     
  5. chestercivic

    chestercivic **Former** ED3, DA9 owner Registered VIP 5+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2005
    Messages:
    600
    Location:
    Arizona
    I am not sure. I have an auto. I just know that there is a reverse light switch that tells when you are in reverse and that is more than likely the problem. Let me see if I can find a pic.
     
  6. henkz0r

    henkz0r Unobtanium Member Registered VIP 5+ Year Member 10+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Messages:
    908
    Location:
    M'boro, TN
    [​IMG]
     
  7. gotcivic

    gotcivic New Member 5+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    Messages:
    96
    Location:
    on the other side
    hey thank u guys for the help!!! im gonna work on that later on today, and by the way thaks for the picture.
     
  8. D0kt3r

    D0kt3r Eagle power EG6 5+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    Messages:
    87
    Location:
    The Netherlands Antilles
    EG6 Backup light switch

    I have my EG6 with a manual b16A and my backup lights stop working. I check bulbs, they are all ok, i checked fuse also ok. I think problem might be in my reverse switch. I have search for old post, but could not found nothing that could help me. The pictures given are not simelar to my gearbox.
    Can someone upload e pic with the correct location for my switch?
     
  9. D0kt3r

    D0kt3r Eagle power EG6 5+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    Messages:
    87
    Location:
    The Netherlands Antilles
  10. D0kt3r

    D0kt3r Eagle power EG6 5+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    Messages:
    87
    Location:
    The Netherlands Antilles
    Can someone please check the link I posted to tell me if it is the backup light switch or not???
     


Share This Page