Timing belt

Stephen staly

So I have a 96 Honda Civic Dx d16y7 with 121,235 miles and idk if the timing belt needs to be changed or not I bought it at 119,*** and the guy said he didn't. So what do I do? I really don't wanna blow my motor

Cooper12

Respected
Im no mechanic but id have someone look at it to tell you what shape its in. I believe its 100k but a 96 civic is 20 years old and i would personally want to change a 20 year old belt immediately

Stephen staly

Im no mechanic but id have someone look at it to tell you what shape its in. I believe its 100k but a 96 civic is 20 years old and i would personally want to change a 20 year old belt immediately
I was just wondering. I just really don't have the cash. Plus idk how much it even cost

Joe Mason

Respected
Registered VIP
Definitely do it. Doing it yourself or paying to have it done is way cheaper than dealing with the consequences if it fails. I know this from personal experience ;-)

Mr.Baker

Mr. Search
Registered VIP
5+ Year Member
10+ Year Member
I was just wondering. I just really don't have the cash. Plus idk how much it even cost.
Do you have the cash and can you afford to have the belt break, jump timing and ruin the motor?
Get a quote so you have an educated idea of what you're looking at, then, save the cash and do the preventative maintenance.

thendi

Respected
5+ Year Member
How do most of you guys get the crank bolt off? I had to buy the tool and use a really long breaker bar to get it loose. My impact gun wouldn't get it off but I think it's because of my compressor.

Stephen staly

Do you have the cash and can you afford to have the belt break, jump timing and ruin the motor?
Get a quote so you have an educated idea of what you're looking at, then, save the cash and do the preventative maintenance.