VTEC Solenoid works but does not engage.

MP1975

Hi All ,

My VTEC solenoid clicks which according to you tube and what I've read on the net means it works but yet it has never engaged. My RPM's never go above the low 4000's ? So I know it can't be engaging. Th eoil level is fine, car leaks no fluids. Where do I go next ? I have cleaned the above screen but have not cleaned the screen to the lower part.

Any help is very much appreciated and needed. I am also no mechanic so the simplier the explanation the better lol.
Thanks,
MP.

CHILD

All Day, All JDM
Registered VIP
Registered OG
5+ Year Member
10+ Year Member
Do you know when vtec is supposed to engage?

MP1975

If I remember correctly about 5800 rpm's....Much Higher then I even seen, Only have the car 5 months and learning.

CHILD

All Day, All JDM
Registered VIP
Registered OG
5+ Year Member
10+ Year Member
Yes, on the majority of the sohc vtec engines, that is the proper vtec crossover point (vtec-e and the rare 3 stage vtec motors are the exception). So if you don't rev that high, the solenoid will not need to engage. Simple as that.

MP1975

That's my point no matter how high I try to get the RPM's it never goes above maybe low 4000's , right around 4000 anyway. That's what originally made me test the Solenoid.

xxBLOOD88SHOTxx

Surge Master
Registered VIP
Your car should be able to rev past that even without vtec engaging. Why did you think it was the VTEC solenoid? Was is throwing that code?

CHILD

All Day, All JDM
Registered VIP
Registered OG
5+ Year Member
10+ Year Member
im not guessing you might have an automatic and in D. If you're not throwing a CEL, you shouldn't really have a problem going up in the revs

MP1975

The car has no codes and I know the CEL bulb is working it comes on when I start the car.