Wanting my 97 civic DX coupe to have 200hp or close to it for $2000 and be reliable

jayram1408

I got a 1997 Honda Civic DX 2 door coupe fully loaded from a friend who wrecked the front end for $500. I got the front straightened out for the most part. Its my daily driver (I don't drive much LOL). I want to get it close to 200HP for under $2000. I am a ASE certified Tech and can do all the work myself but I am used to fixing regular cars and don't really mess around too much with high performance applications. I understand what can be done but I am looking for some folks with experience so i don't go wasting money on my stock 150k stock 1.6L drive train. I am sure I will be swapping motor, trans and maybe some suspension and electrical. I would like to know whats a good motor for this to build up? I would like to turbo it and my budget I realize may need to increase but that's the goal I am shooting for. So I am open to suggestions?

xxBLOOD88SHOTxx

Surge Master
Registered VIP
Two options

1) boost the d16, it can handle 200whp for a long time if you don't smash on it 10 ten times every single day

2) You're looking at like 1100-1400ish for an LS/B20 swap, which doesn't leave much money to boost, but a 14b setup and some good shopping and you might be able to do it for another 1100-1200. How good are your fab skills?

mc360

boosted hx
Registered VIP
5+ Year Member
just boost the d series, i boosted my d16y5 at 175,xxx and it lasted almost 2 years before my car was rear ended with 210,xxx miles. if you piece a turbo kit together you can get some great deals off ebay/craigslist on used or new parts, i wouldnt cheap out on the turbo, blow off valve or wastegate. it can be done for $2,000 but it will take time, also dont forget you will need a chipped ecu, injectors and a tune which do not come in any turbo kit.

Skylar Hale