help establish my build (im new here)

tom baker

Hey everyone. Im new to all of this. Ive never joined a forum before, ive never owned a honda before, and this will be my first build ever.

Ok so first off i have a 1996 honda civic lx. It has a d15b bottom end and what i believe to be a d16y7 head. It does not have vtec. Short term i am looking at finding a p28 ecu, chipping and socketing it, and running neptune tuning software. Right now the only thing it has performance wise are cheap headers and exhaust. I want to practice tuning basics like advancing the timing to start out.

Long term id like to go forced induction. More than likely a cheap ebay turbo kit and forged pistons/rods. My freind has a shop with a dyno and he has tuning experience so he can help to an extent but he doesnt mess with hondas. He is best with LS motors...

My goal is to build the motor this winter.
Id like to see it somewhere around 200-300hp. Id like it to be somewhat reliable because i will be using this as a daily. (I do have another vehicle if something comes up tho)

What are things i should be looking for? What pistons/rods would be best? Will the p28 be the best ecu for my application? Has anyone used neptune before? Any help would be great. Thanks in advance.

Last edited:

Alonsotl05

Respected
If you want something cheap that's somewhat decent I'd say go for a vitara build. If done right it should be reliable for the power your looking to make. Definitely do some research though before going that route and consider all your options.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

ctag

fill it with wires!
Registered VIP
5+ Year Member
10+ Year Member
Welcome to ClubCivic @tom baker :hi:

I don't know anything about engine building, I'm just along for the ride :thumbs up Make sure to take lots of pictures for us!

Mr.Baker

Mr. Search
Registered VIP
5+ Year Member
10+ Year Member
Long term id like to go forced induction. More than likely a cheap ebay turbo kit and forged pistons/rods.