'89 Civic DX, worth the work?

Shertigal

Hello!

So I got this old 89 Civic hatchback DX a year ago. It's currently got somewhere around 260,000 miles on the engine. I'm an active college student who really likes the build of this car and I've put a lot of money into keeping it going.

Here's what I know I'm going to have to fix.
-The starter is going out (I think) so I need to get that done. I've never replaced one before, but I think I can do it myself.
-The transmission is going as well (when I hit 20 mph and I've got to much pressure on the gas, the engine revs until I let off the pedal and try again. this is an automatic transmission) and I'll need to replace/repair if possible.
-It's leaking oil from somewhere (still trying to figure out where exactly it's coming from)

I love the feel of this car and where it sits on the street, though my parents would say it's an attachment made because it's my first car. I would love it if it had a little more power to make it through the mountains (I like to go hiking, and this car struggles to get through the sierras).

My questions to those who would be so kind as to reply;

Is the car worth the fixes it needs or would I be better off getting myself a newer car? What is there that I, a random citizen with little mechanical knowledge, would be capable of fixing/doing myself? If I replace the transmission would that make it more capable of getting through the mountains? If not, should I get the engine replaced as well? Is there a more powerful engine I could put in that wouldn't make worse my average gas mileage?

Thanks so much,

A Curious College Student

R3dline

Respected
Registered VIP
Registered OG
5+ Year Member
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
just a do whole motor swap, there are threads everywhere on how and what to do, step by step. Put a low mileage motor, and trans in it and enjoy the s**t out of it. Is it worth it? money wise no, but if you like the car then its worth it to you.

also, post tits.