92 VSS installation.

Discussion in 'Engine Tech / Drivetrain' started by Dnguyen92, Oct 14, 2011.



Welcome to ClubCivic a Honda Civic Forum

Club Civic is an online Honda Civic forum and community for all Honda Civic enthusiasts. Whether you own a Honda Civic Si, Ex, Type R, Dx, Lx, Cx, Dx, Vx, or even a hybrid you will find valuable information and honda civic car parts on this site. Take a look around to view Honda Civic discussion; including a photo gallery, maintenance information, tech tips, as well as ways to get better performance from your Honda Civic. Visit the Members Ride's to view and rate other member’s Honda Civics. Click here to start viewing the Honda Civic Forums. Before you start posting on this site you will need to register. If you are already registered and not logged in, please login here.

Browse the forums by generation by clicking below or browse all honda civic forums.


  1. Dnguyen92

    Dnguyen92 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2011
    Messages:
    191
    Location:
    Hayward
    So I just copped a new VSS today since my odometer+speedometer doesnt work. Do i just swap the top part where the wires plug in? or can i swap the whole thing.
     
  2. 97ek_coupe

    97ek_coupe New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    Messages:
    65
    Location:
    757, Virginia
    I would just swap the whole thing, its just one bolt. Be careful, that one bolt will break VERY EASILY. Does not have to be super tight, the sensor has a rubber o ring on it that creates a pretty good seal

    Sent from my ADR6400L using Tapatalk
     
  3. Dnguyen92

    Dnguyen92 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2011
    Messages:
    191
    Location:
    Hayward
    hmmm which bolt is it? I know there's those two 10mm that's on the sides of it but that's only if you're swapping the top piece..
     
  4. Osiris19

    Osiris19 oilBurner Registered VIP Registered OG 5+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Messages:
    6,816
    Location:
    Lehigh Valley, PA
    Swapping the VSS is probably the easiest thing you will do in the engine bay. You literally unplug the VSS, unscrew the three bolts, pull the thing out making sure you took the old driveshaft with you (usually what breaks), and pop the new one in.
     
  5. obracer12

    obracer12 New Member Registered VIP 5+ Year Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,775
    Location:
    somewhere
    I just swap the top half... but to swap the whole VSS you un-bolt the one bolt that is furthest from you on the passenger side of the car. it is tall and has about an inch and a half of un-threaded length.

    DO NOT over tighten. The bolt will break, and if it doesn't it will strip the housing.
     
  6. Dnguyen92

    Dnguyen92 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2011
    Messages:
    191
    Location:
    Hayward
    is that the only bolt i need to take off? because i took it off but that b***h wont move for nothing.
     
  7. Dnguyen92

    Dnguyen92 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2011
    Messages:
    191
    Location:
    Hayward
    Ok nvm I got it. Gonna go test drive it to see if my speedo will work. If it doesnt.. what else could it be?
     
  8. Dnguyen92

    Dnguyen92 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2011
    Messages:
    191
    Location:
    Hayward
    alright yeah it didn't work.. how else would I be able to get my speedo working? :cry:
     
  9. Osiris19

    Osiris19 oilBurner Registered VIP Registered OG 5+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Messages:
    6,816
    Location:
    Lehigh Valley, PA
    Pull the cluster and check the wiring and the PCB on the back of the cluster for tears.

    Sent from my ADR6300 using Tapatalk
     
  10. Dnguyen92

    Dnguyen92 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2011
    Messages:
    191
    Location:
    Hayward
    Which is the pcb? And I have sn automatic cluster even though I'm driving manual, and towards the bottom of the back of the cluster I see that there's both a green and yellow slot for something to plug in. I only have the yellow side in there isn't anything for the green slot to plug into.
     


Loading...

Share This Page